Gazetteer of localities in Czech Switzerland
(notice: numbers of touristic paths may not agree to present state, colour should be same:B=blue, R=red, G=green, Y=yellow)
Described territory: state border - Hrensko - Labská strán - Bynovec - Nová Oleška - Stará Oleška - Ceská Kamenice - Chribská - Doubice - Krásná Lípa - Brtníky - state border
Arnoltice by Decín
Village (343 m, 1000 inhabitants) 7 km northeast of Decín in Růžovská highlands. Colonization settlement reminded in 1352. Around village green there are farmsteads (brick or timber on ground-floor and timber or half-timbered /=girder shell skeleton filled with stone, brick etc./ on second floor). Late baroque church of Assumption of Virgin Mary was built up in the years 1756-1758, in 1910 burnt down, in 1959 reconstructed, interior decoration mainly pseudorococo, around cemetery fencing wall with three gates and 14 stations of the cross from second half of 18th century. In neighbourhood there is vicarage, initially baroque from 1774, and then rebuilt into art nouveau style in 20th century but with baroque gate and sculpture. Another two baroque statues are in village green there. B 12. Bathing place in nature 1 km to southeast in recreational settlement Nový Svet (New world). Post office. Restaurant. Bus in the direction of Janov, Decín and Labská Strán.
Arnoltický vrch (Arnoltice´s hill)
Wooded height (424 m) in Růžovská highlands between villages Arnoltice (north) and Bynovec (south) - B 12 along northeast bottom of height.
Natural reservation (18,6 ha) 2 km north of Jetrichovice, to the east from Ceská silnice (Czech road), to the southwest from Ptací kámen (372 m) (Bird stone). Rocky labyrinth in sandstones, which are wooded by fine type of pine with high and straight logs. There also habits protected club moss Vranec jedlový (huperzia selago) (Fir Clubmoss). Out of marked paths, forthcoming are R 17 (south) and G 16 (north).
Outlook point (the most considerable from "rocky galerries" of Czech Switzerland) 0,5 km west of village Labská Strán, 2,5 km south-south-west of village Hrensko. On the edge of high rock (130 m above river Labe /Elbe/) there was already in the years 1701-1711 carved gradual terrace (the oldest outlook in region) and by this terrace was carved into the rock four-square room - "salla terrena" (it served for musical shows) with high arcade (with blazon of Clary-Aldringens), nearby was built up aristocratic villa (later restaurant, present hotel Belveder). Bangs from mortar that was situated on the terrace entertained peers with its multiple echo. Party enjoyed themselves with in those days modish pastorals. In 19th century there was established "carriage road" socalled Alej (Alley) (initially flanked by block stones) that routed in straight direction 4 km to the southeast into Bynovec (today R 11 partly is getting along). From terrace lookouts into the valley of river Elbe: to the south village Dolní Žleb, to the north in Germany on left bank of Elbe lonely table hills Zirkelstein and Kaiserkrone (Kaisercrown), on right bank rocky ridge of Schrammsteine and long drawn wooded hill Große Winterberg. R 11 routes 500 m from Belvedér (red marked branch). In the descent below terrace there is steep path descending to road along river Labe in proximity of ferry to Dolní Žleb (train to Decín).
Bílá dolina (White bottom glade)
Woody valley of Bílý potok (White brook) - also called Jetrichoická Belá, through that routes way from Jetrichovice to Dolský mlýn (Ground mill) (2,5 km), Y 23.
Bílý potok (White brook)
Right-sided affluent of river Krinice. It springs south of railway station Mikulášovice-upper station, very soon it frames state border and in former village Zadní Doubice (Hinder Doubice) on the end of Kyjovský valley it joins the river Krinice. Road routes along its right bank - so on territory of Germany therefore itisn´t free accesible (yellow marked path through Weissbach Tal). To entry of brook routes B 22.
Bor (Pinewood hill)
Wooded sandstone height (486 m) in eastern part of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 2 km west from Doubice, at edge of very articulated and romantic sandstone area nearby frontier stream Krinice. Local partial outlooks: to southeast - Chribské hills, to north Brtnické barrens and heights by Mikulášovice, to west hills in Saxony (Gross Winterberg). Y 23.
Borek (Small pinewood hill)
Wooded hill (321 m) in Růžovská highlands, 1,5 km south of Jetrichovice, 1,5 km east of Všemily. Rocky height is edged from three sides (north, east and west) by in sandstone modeled valleys and dingles with affluents of river ChribskáKamenice (in northeast there is Vlcí rokle - Wolfish dingle).
Borovina(Pinewood grove hill) (former Tonl´s hill)
Wooded rocky height (364 m) in Růžovská highlands, 1 km south of Všemily. In vicinity there is broken sandstone terraine with valleys and dingles, on southwestern bottom extend Svinské doly (Sow´s valleys), through which getting along B 18.
Borový důl (Pinewood valley)
Short small valley devious to the left from non-marked path routed from curve (1 km far from Mezní Louka in the direction of Pravcická gate) of educational path "Friendship between Czech republic and Germany" and also R 14 to northeast to state border. On both sides there are steep massives with rock-climbing towers.
Branka (Small gate)
Large parting of the non-marked ways at the foot of Hatový důl (Hurdle valley), through thatY 21.
Bratrské oltáre (Fraternal altars)
Up stone-stairs accessible close of side valley in forests 1 km to the northeast from Ceská Kamenice, where were carved into the sandstone´s rocks numerous frames and niches for paintings and statuary of saints, adapted boulders commemorates altars. In period 1518-1624, when domain Ceská Kamenice belonged to protestant aristocracy, there in private encountered catholics, after battle of Bílá hora during counter-reformation there on contrary protestants celebrated secret devotions. Later this place was mounted with baroquely ostentatious catholic ecclesiastical decor, on pedestal of pivotal sculpture there is year 1765, reconstruction and arrangment into pilgrimage place in year 1887, during comunism largely devastated by people and ravages of time. In year 1993 there was mounted board with original image of altar (author of board: Jan Pokorný). B 25 is getting along.
Brtnický hrádek(Brtnický castle) (also Loupežný hrad - Robber´s castle)
Small evidences of former rocky redoubt on sandstone point, that dominated to Hluboký důl (Deep valley) (right-bank branch from Kyjovské valley, west of Turistický most /Tourist´s bridge/), 2,5 km south-south-west of Brtníky. By its extent the smallest castle from 6 rocky redoubts of Jetrichovice´s sandstone region, which in 14th century secured local domain of Berkas from Dubá, evidently this stronghold also protected the shortest connection from river Elbe to Šluknov´s region and to Lusatia. Without historical records we don´t know neither original name of castle. Access to castle routed from northeast over natural clefts (today adapted), which formed ingenuous defense, to self castle´s rock. On the peak rock of loaf shape there is carved into this rock square vault under then sole, probably wooden tower. In the pit and also in surroundings evidences of former constructions, into the rock carved beds for beams and girders. Outlook over Hluboký důl (Deep valley) on opposite headland with bizzare rocky formations. G 33, branch to the west.
Brtnický potok (Brtnický brook)
Right-sided affluent of river Krinice. It springs below Ptací vrch (Bird´s hill) northeast from village Brtníky, through that also flows pass to west at first, behind it by settlement Kopec (Hill) brook turns to south and it gets through wooded valley with sandstone rocks. By bridge near state border it inflows into river Krinice. From Brtníky brook is followed by B 22, valley road isn´t in wooded part passable for cars.
Wooded height (445 m) in eastern part of Jetrichovice walls, 2 km west of Kyjov, between Hrebcová ridge (also called Wild ridge) (southwards), Kyjovské valley of river Krinice (northwards) and Studánkový důl (Spring´s valley) (eastwards), through that routed G 33 leading into socalled Doubická cesta (Doubická road) (also Travnatý důl - Grassy valley).
Long by-brook village (387 m) on headwater of Brtnický brook, 7 km west of Rumburk, part of municipal Staré Krecany (Old Krecany). Fist archive mention about year 1346. In graveyard (near demolished baroque church) with closing wall and gate (adapted in 1859-1887) there is classicist chapel from 1850. On Krížový vrch (Cross hill) (eastern edge of village) chapel of Holiest Trinity from 1768 (reconstructed 1842-1858) with the Way of the Cross and chapel of the Holy Sepulchre (beginning of 19th century). Popular buildings with composite construction (brickwork, timbering, half-timbering). Bathing place by viaduct. Post. Railway station. R 35, B 22, G 33.
Bukovina (Beech hill)
Basaltic hill (557 m) in Kytlická hilly country, 2 km southwest of Chribská. Round outlook as far up as Saxony: to west table hills, to north-north-east Kottmar with outlook-tower. Wooded complex with single rocks on slopes (partial outlooks), more abruptly slopes down to southwest into valley of Studený potok (Cold brook). Along southeast shoulder B 25.
Village (380 m) on table on right bank of river Elbe, 6 km northeast from centre of town Decín, 6 km south-south-east of Hrensko, till 1990 part of village Arnoltice, after 1990 obtained independence. First mentions from 1515 as part of Benešov´s domain under authority of castle Ostrý. Rectangular two-storeyed baroque manor with knee roof from second half of 17th century, after confalgration (1791) rebuilt. Adjoining classicist building from first third of 19th century. Late baroque chapel with six paned bell tower. Lumped estate of older popular houses with composite construction technology (brickwork, timbering, half-timbering). Rural surroundings. Behind village in course to Růžová flying-field for ultralights. To northwest is aiming Alej (Alley) - 4 km long direct road (partially along R 11) to former villa Belvedér (Belvedere). Bathing place 1,5 km to northeast in recreatinal settlement Nový Svet (New World) (B 12). G 10a (finish in village). Bus to Decín, Růžová, Arnoltice.
Bynovecká plošina (Bynovec´s plateau)
200-300 m above water level of river Labe (Elbe), roughly speaking triangle shaped between Decín (where ends by Kvádrovec /Kvaderberg, in english Block hill/), Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill) and Elisalex (Cliff of peace) above Hrensko. In Czech Switzerland it is sole of its kind with larger areas of relatively fertile soils containing loess (on the other hand in Saxon Switzerland these are more common). In some villages of Bynovecká plateau were built wind-mills (today only 3), the fairest is that one situated on hill Petrín by Růžová - technical relic and in present pension.
Bynovecký potok (Bynovec´s brook)
It streams down from Dobrnská highland to the east. It originates south of village Bynovec (G 10a) east of Kamenský hill, it flows through valley of Vresová dolina (Heather´s valley), in village Nová Oleška (B 12) charges local pond and in Srbská Kamenice (Wendish Kamenice) empties itself into river Kamenice. Visited by tourists is especially upper flow.
Bynovecký vrch (Bynovec´s hill)(on older maps Cábel)
Wooded hill (412 m) situated 1,5 km east of village Bynovec. On its southwestern hillside there is natural reservation - protected rojovník bahenní (Labrador-tea) (Ledum palustre). (B 12) routes along northern hill-side out wooded hill, that is without outlooks.
Brook in Růžovská highland, springs by Kunratice (G 20), 2 km north of Ceská Kamenice. It flows to southwest over Filipov (B 18) into Janská, where empties itself into river Kamenice.
C(pronounced as "cz")
Natural reservation 1,5 km east of village Bynovec,3 km soutwest of Rosy hill. On southwestern hill-side of Bynovecký hill (412 m) there is on sandstone bed small peat-bog with typical peat flora - for example suchopýr pochvatý (Hare's-tail Cottongrass) (Eriophorum vaginata), klikva bahenní (small cranberry) (Oxycoccus palustris) and rojovník bahenní (Labrador-tea) (Ledum palustre), in surroundings thin spruce-wood and pine-wood with straggled alders. Out of marked paths. The nearest B 12 goes along hill-side of Bynovecký hill.
Cedicový vrch (Basaltic hill)
Wooded elevation point (327 m) above Jetrichovice, 0,5 km south of road to Vysoká Lípa, west of road to Všemily. Basaltic outbreak was on the top uncovered by erosion of sandstones. Access from south, former outlook today overgrown by trees.
Cerná brána (Black gate)
Natural formation by orifice of wooded Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley) in Jetrichovice s walls. Fallen block on incision in sandstone rock formed there natural gate, through which hole (height 3 m, width at bottom 5 m) flows Cervený potok (Red brook) - leftsided affluent of river Krinice and through which routes also not-marked path. Access: blue marked path to proper Black gate. Path reaches river Krinice (state border). About 300 m north of entry of Red brook there is situated sandstone tower Krinická vež (Krinice´s tower) - rockclimbing terrain.
Cerná stena (Black wall)
Former denomination one of three characteristic sandstone rocks by Jetrichovice, present Vilemínina stena (Vilemína´s wall), on the maps sometimes Jetrichovická stena (Jetrichovice´s wall).
Cerný důl (Black valley)
Valley that begins by road from Hrensko to Mezní Louka about 1,5 km from Mezní Louka on the right side. Through whole valley routes not-marked path. End of valley intersects educational path of "Czech-German friendship" and also R 17.
Certův kámen (Devil´s stone)
Rocky height (426 m), 2 km west of Kyjov, 110 m above Kyjov´s valley, to it turns to left path, that continues along hill Medvedice (She-bear) and then this path reaches Doubická road.
Ancient town (301 m, 7000 citizens) on the river Kamenice, 15 km east-north-east from Decín, 18 km south-west from Varnsdorf, its part until 90th of 20th century were former villages Dolní Kamenice (Lower Kamenice), Filipov, Horní Kamenice (Upper Kamenice), Huníkov, Janská, Kamenická Nová Víska (Kamenice´s New small village), Kerhartice, Kunratice, Lipnice, Líska, Markvartice, Pekelský Důl (Devil´s valley), Studený, Veselé (Merry village) and Veselícko (Small merry village). After velvet revolution some of them made them independent - explicitly Kunratice, Lipnice, Studený, Veselé and Veselícko (Lipnice and Studený are now part of Kunratice). There are contiguous borders of CHKO (Protected landscape area) Labské pískovce (Elbe´s sandstones), CHKO Lužické hory (Lusatian mountains) and CHKO Ceské stredohorí (Czech middlemountains). Historical development: Town was probably founded in half of 13th century under castle Kamenice that stood on near-by southeastern Zámecký vrch (Castle hill), former denomination of town was Campnicz. King Václav II. (Wenceslas II.) dedicated whole town to Jan from Michalovice, later were its owners Berkas from Dubá and Vartenberks. In 14th century came colonists from Meissen region, since 1515 owned domain Meissen house of Salhausens, since 1614 house of Kinskýs. Municipal book, founded in the year 1380 and kept until 1516, is historicaly and artisticly very valuable (today in record office in Litomerice). Privilege to brew beer was vested to 67 houses already in 1394. In the years 1423-1430 town was occupied several times by Hussite garrison, but without positive response among citizens, in 1444 castle and town were conquered and burnt down by armies of Lusatian Sixtowns. Later was holder of town even Vilém Kinský, who was murdered in 1634 along Albrecht from Valdštejn in Cheb. In the years 1625 and 1680 town shared in uprising of rural people in region, during seven-years war (1756-1763) bloody skirmishes in surroundings, in the year 1775 peasant riot, in 18th and 19th century town suffered from epidemics (1778 - black small-pox, 600 victims, about year 1850 - typhoid, dysentery, cholera). After 1830 first plants, in 1834 paper mill, in 1855 laundry of wool. After 28th October 1918 also there was effort to establish so-called Province Deutschböhmen and to break off new state - Czechoslovak republic, but 18.12.1918 was town occupied by Czechoslovak army. In elections in 1920 the left (czech and german social democracy) obtained 73% of votes, but after year 1936 became stronger influence of nationalists (in ellections 56% for SDAP - Henleiners). To supporters of nazism belonged also holder of doamin Ceská Kamenice - Oldrich Kinský, in the year 1939 he entertained lord Runciman and after Munich pact he welcomed Adolf Hitler to Ceská Kamenice. So-called Sudetenland broke off Czechoslovakia, in WW2 plants passed to armament production, in surroundings of town about 30 prisoner´s work-camps, and also concentration camp Rabštejn. Revolt´s groups operated in town (commander was czech worker Jaroslav Synek, who was ordered under constraint there) and even in concentration camp (Ferdinand Sommer - editor of Rudé právo), since spring 1945 also paratroopers who bailed by Růžová (Soviets, Poles, Germans), they informed with transmitter placed in brewery Soviet´s staff of movements of Nazi-armies. Ceská Kamenice was occupied in 9.5.1945 by forces of 2nd Polish Army (brigade-general Karol Swierczewski) which operated in union of 1st Ukrainian front. In february 1948 (communist putsch) workers of local paper mill refused to send paper for printing of democratic newspapers Ceské slovo (Czech word). In eighties of 20th century building of housing estates at edge of town. Historical and aesthetic sights: Historical core of town with oblong square is mentioned as entrenched town already in 1352. Bricked medieval architecture is complemented with mostly baroque wooden buildings of craftsman´s houses and also later classicism stone buildings. From former walls and gates is preserved only southern Zámecká brána (Castle gate). Close to it standing chateau built up on the place of former lord´s farmstead in the years 1541-1543 Jindrich from Vartenberk, southern wing is Renaissance (with porticoes), northern wing is baroque, entry gate (on the eastern side) with blazons of Vchynskýs (alias Kinskýs) and Trckas from 1631. Urban cathedral (opposite to chateau) of st. Jakub, originaly from 14th century, completely re-built 1562 and especially in the years 1604-1605, inside cathedral there is lately Gothic hall´s three-nave, decoration is classicism and rococo mostly from 18th century, baroque font, even young Antonín Dvorák played local organs in the years 1856-1857, in the crypt there are 8 coffins of Vartenberks, valuable tombstones from 16th century. Tower originates in the years 1552-1555, originaly it stood alone as watch-tower and part of urban fortification, after rebuilding in 1605 it was connected to church as belfry, there used to be also dwelling of night watchman. Near church there is building of former parish school from 1562. In northern part of town there is chapel of Birth of Virgin Mary, baroque building from 1736.1739 (architects J.Schwarz from Ústí nad Labem and Jan Jirí Kacinka from Ceská Kamenice), central disposition on semi-circular platform culminating by mighty cupola (green verdigris) with buttresses decorated with statues of saints from workshop of Ferdinand Maxmilián Brokoff, inside of cupola murals with theme of apocalypse from Ferdinand Brunetti (from 1883-1885) and painted windows, main altar rococo from 1746 (Josef Klein), on it very golden wooden pilgrimage statue of Virgin Mary. Chapel is surrounded by quadri-wing cloisters with tower (year 1749), in four corner chapels with copulas there are rococo and baroque wooden statues. Outside of chapel in small park on place of former cemetery is situated monument to victims of WW1 and WW2 (on the wall) and monument to killed soldiers of Red Army. Near-by there is building of former poor-house - baroque building with mansard roof, built up in 1749 (J.J.Kacinka, under influence of Litomerice´s architect Octavius Broggia), formerly there used to live 24 poor dependants (in ground-floor women and in second floor men) in halls divided by wooden separating partitions into 24 closets with common stoves, later it serves as civic hospital, durign WW2 there was lodging-house for Polish workers ordered under constraint to works in Rabštejn, today culture-house with restaurant, near-by in park group of basalt columns - monument to victims of black variola from 1778. On the square of Peace stands baroque octagonal fountain from 1775 with statue of Virgin Mary from 1680 (master Oldrich from Zittau), near fountain there is on the ground horse-shoe stoned by quartz, that indicated place where could be stood livestock for sale. Town-hall with Latin inscription "Palladium Civitatis" (Bulwark of community), originaly renessaince building probably from 1493 was rebuilt and enlarged in 1591, today classicism form. On building "Formanka" by hotel Slavie there is stone tablet with blazon, date 1579 and foreign-language script of psalm 37,29 ("Fair ones will heritably rule to country and they will indwell in it forever"). On the square empire house and completely rebuilt gothic double-house, in town there are also several fair buildings of folk architecture. Protected red yew grows near church of st. Jakub, height 11 m, its stem in height 30 cm has circumference 410 cm, age about 400 years. Kamenice´s castle stands on wooded basalt Zámecký vrch (Castle hill) (530 m) southeast of town. Origin of castle is unaccounted-for, in 15th century was adapted and fortified by Vartenberks, in the year 1444 was conquered and burnt down by armies of Lusatian Sixtowns, in the beginning of 17th century already abandoned. Into fair husky walls (from basalt) of oblong castle palace were built wooden restaurant and out-look stage, in course of time was everything pulverized, but things moved forward to right direction and into castle was built in 1998 new out-look tower and repaired dilapidating brickwork. In surroundings of palace scanty rests of fences. On shoulder there are slide rock´s fields and outbreaks of basalt with inklings of columnar separation of basalt. Branch line from G 26. Big names: There was born professor Jan Klein (1681-1762), director of mathematics in Prague´s Klementinum, author of astronomical clocks, further Johann Emanuel Pohl (1782-1834), czech botanist and doctor, explorer in Brazilian primeval forests, companion of J.W.Goethe through Bohemia, further Josef Hegenbarth (1884-1961), painter and after 1945 director of gallery in Dresden´s Zwinger. In their juvenility stayed there two composers - Christoph Willibal Glück (1714-1787), German early-classicism composer, reformer of opera, his father was forester in Kamenice´s domain (stay 1720-1728) and Antonín Dvorák (1841-1904), he attended local German school in the years 1856-1857 in order to improve German language, he dwelt by miller Josef Ohm in Upper mill (Upper Kamenice by crossing of roads to Nový Bor and Chribská). Surroundins of town took down on his drawings painter Karel Liebscher (1851-1906), three large drawings on glass in hotel Slavie are from academic painter Karel Hodr. Recreation and sport: Large bathing place by Strelnice and smaller in Upper Kamenice, in surroundings Stará Oleska´s lake and natural bathing place in settlement Vesnicka (Small village), watering-place in Palacký street. Ski-lift on Ptací vrch (Bird´s hill) - Upper Kamenice. Crossing of tourist paths - B 18 and fastening up B 25, G 20 and fastening up G 26, Y 19. Post, cinema, police, hospital, pharmacy, car-repair workshop, petrol station, train (to Decín), bus (to Decín, Ceská Lípa, Rumburk, Varnsdorf, Nový Bor). Surroudings: Kamenice´s castle, Jehla (Needle, out-look point), Pustý zámek (Abandoned castle) (Natural relic, further ruins of castle Fredewald), Studenec (Cold hill, Natural reservation Cold hill), Zlatý vrch (Golden hill, Natural reservation - columnar separation of basalt), Panská skála (Natural reservation Varhany - Organs), Kamenický Šenov (Glass museum).
Ceská silnice (cesta) (Czech road)
For cars closed forestry road that routes from Vysoká Lípa (High Linden) to the north to frontier bridge across river Krinice (former hamlet Hinder Jetrichovice). Grateful tourist journey through rocky wilderness of Jetrichovice s walls with castle Šaunštejn and turnings into side dingles - Mokrý důl (Wet valley), Mlýnská rokle (Mill´s dingle), Hluboký důl (Deep valley). R 17 (southern edge), G 16 (northern edge).
Ceská stezka (Czech path)
Old trade and provincial path (mentioned already in 1213 or 1241), that directed through frontier forest of Jetrichovice´s walls from Bautzen over Sebnitz to Bohemia. Exact direction we don´t know, however historians presume that it routed through in those days existing Slav´s villages Vysoká Lípa, Všemily, Srbská Kamenice, Oleška, Dobrná, Jedlka and across river Ploucnice into heart of Bohemia. Along part of it routes present Czech road.
Ceský vrch (Czech hill)
Sandstone hill (426 m) at eastern edge of Jetrichovice´s walls, west of Dolní Chribská, on the right bank of river Chribská Kamenice. Once almost bald lookout peak today almost wooded, only partial outlooks from bottom edge of wood. (Former denomination Böhmberg after name of owner).
Divoká rokle (Wild dingle)
Another denomination for Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley), sometimes on the maps too.
Divoká souteska (Wild gorge or canyon)
Deep rocky canyon of river Kamenice situated in block sandstones of Růžovská vrchovina (Růžová´s highlands), 4 to 6 km to east-east-south from Hrensko. Natural characteristics is similar to Tichá souteska (Silent gorge) though not in same extent and diversity of phenomena. It links up with Tichá souteska (Silent gorge) by Mezní můstek (Mezná´s bridge), from where routes along left bank of river foot-passenger´s path with moderate ascending to lower landing-place, next section (450 m) is accessible only through boats (in summer period, entrance fee) - it was made available in the year 1898. Above upper landing-place there is on the left bank pair of sandstone towers Trojnožka and Závojnatka, along them turned to south side valley called Hluboký důl (Deep valley) (not-marked way to Kamenicá strán) with brook Kachní potok (Duck´s brook). By landing-place (behind box office) there is spring Pramen štestí (Fountain of happiness). Further routes along right bank of Kamenice foot-path again to place, where valley of river turns to south and where path turns from canyon to northeast, there Wild gorge ends. Way ascends through ravine to blue-marked path from Vysoká Lípa to Mezní Louka. Next section of river Kamenice called Ve strži (In ravine) isn´t approachable, path ends in the place where the rocks falls into water. Bus station Mezná, Mezní Louka, Vysoká Lípa, Růžová-hájenky. G 16 on the west border (Mezní můstek), B 18 after ascent from eastern edge of valley.
Dlouhá Belá (Long white brook)
Brook running from Mezní Louka to the west on parallel way with river Kamenice into which (after connection with Suchá Belá /Dry white brook/ affluent from north) pours itself on the eastern edge of village Hrensko. Along its whole length is attached road from Hrensko to Vysoká Lípa, in lower part of brook R 14 and educational path.
Dlouhý důl (Long valley)
Valley beginning by bus-station "Tri prameny" (Three springs) and continuing to north-north-east direction. Partialy through valley gets educational path of "Czech and German friendship", also R 14.
Dolní Chribská (Lower Chribská)
Village by brook (310 m) in valley of river Chribská Kamenice, on the west is connected with Chribská, to which appertains (part of it). Numerous ground-floor and two-storeyed wooden folk houses, mainly from 18th and 19th century, incased and with slate decorated gables. Mostly carefully maintained objects in virgin environment. There prevails utilize for recreation. Y 23 gets through upper (eastern) part.
Dolní Karlštejn (Lower Charlestone)
Former denomination for Chribský hrádek (Chribský castle) between Chribská and Doubice.
Dolní souteska (Lower gorge)
Denomination sometimes used for Tichá souteska (Silent gorge) in canyon of river Kamenice.
Dolský mlýn (Ground mill)
Place by entry of brook Jetrichovická Belá (Jetrichovice´s white brook) into Kamenice, 3 km west of Jetrichovice, 1 km south of Vysoká Lípa, 1 km east of Kamenická strán. Initially big mill (access road from Kamenická strán), that had many years also considerable function in waterway transportation - log driving, later restaurant for hikers, that alreay before WW2 didn´t prosper due to extensive pollution of river Kamenice from waste industrial waters, which couldn´t be watered by Jetrichovická Belá enough. Place of former lower landing-place of boat´s transportation through southern part of Srbskokamenická gorge (also Ferdinand´s gorge), today crossing of tourist paths. B 18, Y 21. By bridge (the oldest bridge with ferro-concrete construction in former Austria-Hungary) protected Královský smrk, lone mighty piece of picea abies, height 27 m, age about 180 years, circumference (1,3 m above ground) is 270 cm.
Doubice (Beech village)
Amidst far-reaching forests situated village (390 m) 4 km southwest of Krásná Lípa (till 1990 Doubice was part of it, but then it made it independent), today 77 permanent inhabitants. Felicitous climatic location creates good conditions for recreation, through village goes border between two CHKOs (Protected landscape areas) Elbe´s sandstones and Lusatian mountains. Sparse estate (with folk buildings) connects northern Stará Doubice (Old Doubice), situated along Doubický potok (Doubice´s brook) (in the middle of village there is pond, bathing), with southern Nová Doubice (New Doubice) - it arose from former aristocratic farmstead. In 1457 scriptural mention of one of first glass-works in Bohemia. Classicism church of Assumption of Virgin Mary from 1811-1914, equipment from same time. In 1998 was church restored and canonized again. Half-brick building of former vicarage from 1814. On territory of village 2 km to northeast there is Vápenný vrch (Lime hill) with Natural reservation Vápenka (Lime-kiln). 1,5 km to south there is Spravedlnost (Justice hill) with basalt outbreaks on northeastern bank. Defunct settlement Zadní Doubicd (Hinder Doubice) (first mention in 1547) used to stay 5 km to northwest in frontier sector of river Krinice near entry of Brtník´s brook. Post, bus. G 33 (northern edge of village), Y 23.
Doubický potok (Doubice´s brook)
Right-sided affluent of river Chribská Kamenice. It springs between Široký vrch (Wide hill) and Vápenný vrch (Lime hill) in wooded saddle (there is beaten up by Z 33), accompanied by road it barks at first to southwest and then goes through village Doubice (contact with Y 23), behind that it turns to south, passes along Chribský castle and issues in Dolní (Lower) Chribská.
Durišova souteska (or Tichá souteska - Silent gorge, or Edmundova souteska - Edmund´s gorge)
Rocky canyon on river Kamenice, it begins on the end of village Hrensko. Through it passes path carved into rock, under overhangs and through tunnels (open in 1890). Behind barrage suggestive of waterfall path ends and we have to continue with boat (we pass along artificial waterfall). Gorge ends by Mezní můstek (Mezná´s bridge), from where we can ascend with G 16.
Old name of "Cliff of peace" above Hrensko (170 m), right away above entry of river Kamenice into river Elbe. Out-look to Elbe, Hrensko, Kaiserkrone.
Orientation point in eastern part of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 1 km west of hill Bor (Pine hill), 1 km north-north-east from Na Tokání. Crossing with hunting cottage, called after picture of st. Eustach (Ostaš, patron of hunters), that used to hang there. Y 23.
Rests of rocky castle on the southest sandstone knot (303 m) in massive of Havraní kámen (Crow´s stone) on northeastern edge of Jetrichovice (0,5 km from Jetrichovice). It was founded probably already at end of 13th century for protection of Ceská stezka (Bohemian path) to Lusatia, first mention in 1395, since year 1406 in possession of house of Berka from Dubá and later in possession of Vartenberkas, in Hussite period at first on side of Lusatian Sixtowns, then on the contrary base for plundering campaigns into Lusatia, therefore in 1444 besieged and damaged, inhabited still in 1457, then records are silent about castle. In period of romanticism it became favourite target of hikers, in the year 1852 was explored and was created access to it. Rock is divided by cleft, through which routes access to castle on top of rock: initially people entered castle from east (down to the left well carved into rock deep 25 m), today from west (trampled stairs, danger !). Near this way on the right is worn relief of blazon - falcon with cross. On plateau of northern part of rock there are excavated rests of large room (6 x 12 m) with rest of vaulting and stately out-look to north to Havraní kámen (390 m), there is carved date 1593, but in this time castle was already abandoned. Adjoining excavated room was probably chapel (block as altar). Out-look: southwest Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), west Kocicí kostel (Cat´s church) (or Kacírský kostel - Heretical church) by Jetrichovice, in far distance Decínský Snežník (Decín´s Snowy hill) and rocky hills in Germany, north Havraní kámen (Crow´s stone) (it covers other peaks of Jetrichovice´s rocks). Y 21, from yellow tourist mark branching line to the left.
Falknovská Kamenice (Falknov´s Kamenice)
Former denomination for river Kamenice in section from spring to junction with Chribská Kamenice in Všemily.
Former castle, called today Pustý zámek (Abandoned castle), on headland (420 m) in narrow valley of river Kamenice, 3 km east of Ceská Kamenice. Territory bought in the year 1406 from Jan from Michalovice (he took part with Panská jednota /Lord´s Union/ in revolt against king Václav IV.) Hynek Berka from Dubá, who appointed to Fredevald new captain Zikmund from Slibovice (= first scriptural mention). During dividing of Berka´s domain among his five sons castle devolved after 1410 upon Jan Berka, after him was owner Decín´s Zikmund from Vartenberk (since 1428). During punishing campaign of Sixtown´s armies in 1444 castle was conquered and demolished, since 16th century is abandoned. Till present time are preserved only rests of walls and excavated vaults. Rock on which castle was built, was declared protected natural creation (today natural reservation) called "Abandoned castle". From top of rock is beautiful out-look into valley of river Kamenice, to opposite Bridlicný (Šikmý) vrch (Slate´s or Slanting hill) (499 m) and to vulcanic hills of Ceské stredohorí (Czech Middlemountains) and Lužické hory (Lusatian mountains). Access along not-marked steep path begins behind recreational building by road, where you can also park.
Hadrový důl (Rubber´s valley)
Local part of Srbská Kamenice by entry of brook Postnice and Forestry road from Nová Oleška.
Haťový důl (Hurdle valley) (Mostkový důl - Bridge valley)
It routes from Jetrichovice through sandstone rocks at first to east below southern hill-sides of Falkenštejn and then it ascends to northeast into saddle between Suchý vrch and (Dry hill) and knoll Na Tokání. Y 21.
Havraní kámen (Crow´s stone)
The southest from three characteristic peaks (390 m) of Jetrichovické skály (Jetrichovice´s rocks), 1 km northeast of Jetrichovice. inaccessible for tourists (without any path), on northwestern shoulder are rockclimbing towers. Sometimes called also Krkavčí skála (Raven´s rock). R 17 goes about along western and northern shoulder.
Plain wooded hill (420 m) on northern edge of sandstone territory of Jetrichovice´s walls (one of the northest sandstone hills of Czech Switzerland), 2 km southwest of Brtníky, 0,5 km southwest of health resort Šternberk, where is going through G 33.
Hlubina (Peklo) (Depth or Hell)
Not-passable gorge by river Kamenice between dingle Ve strži (In the ravine) (below Mezní Louka) and Vysoká stena (High wall), where ends path from Dolský mlýn. We have to come roud it above along Ptací skála (Bird´s rock) and Vysoká Lípa´s gamekeeper´s lodge.
Hluboký důl(Schodový důl) (Deep valley or Stair´s valley)
3 km long, by rocks bordered, dingle in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) northeast of Mezní Louka. It begins below northwestern hill-sides of Vetrovec (Wind hill) and it leads into Ceská silnice (Czech road) about 0,5 km from state border. In upper third turns to south wild rocky gorge called Tondova díra (Tonda´s hollow), through that routes not-marked join of green and red tourist marked paths. G 16 gets through middle and bottom part of valley.
Horní Chribská (Upper Chribská)
Horní Karlštejn (Upper Charles-stone) (Kyjovský hrad - Kyjov´s castle)
Sooner used, but historic not-documented denomination for Kyjovský hrad (Kyjov´s castle) in the valley of river Krinice.
Sandstone knot (463 m) with rocky peak in eastern part of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 2 km north of log-houses Na Tokání, between Mostkový důl (Bridge valley) (east) and Pryskyricný důl (Resinous vallley) (west).
Hrbolec (dríve Piklštejn) (Bump hill, former Piklštejn)
About 15 m high sidelong rocky knot from tefrit´s basalt (sodalit), 2 km north-north-east of centre of municipality Chribská, 0,5 km west of hamlet Na Sedle (On the Saddle) near Rybnište (there G 26) by not-marked forestry road. Peak accessible only for rock-climbers. Out-look from clearing by foot of rock (to south and west) and from elevation-point at edge of wood east of rock (to east and south).
Hrebcový důl (Stallion valley) (Divoká rokle - Wild dingle)
4 km long rocky valley in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), through that flows Cervený potok (Red brook). Valley begins 2 km southwest of Kyjov on northern foot of hill Hrebec (Stallion), extends to west to Cerná brána (Black gate), behind that it leads into canyon of river Krinice. It forms axis of system of smaller, but bizarre side dingles and valleys (for example valleys Strelecký (Shooter´s), Mostkový (Bridge), Pryskiricný (Resinous), Vavrincův (Vavrinec´s) etc.) To north above valley are sandstone ridges Štíty (Peaks), Dravcí skály (Predatory rocks) (or Sýr a chléb - Cheese and bread) and Sokolí steny (Falcon´s walls), to south rocky massives Hrad (Castle), Strelecké kameny (Shooter´s stones), Vosí vrch (Wasp´s hill). G 33 on eastern edge by hill Hrebec (Stallion), B 22 about 1 km it goes through western part of valley, otherwise it isn´t marked.
Wooded knot (478 m) from sandstone with outbreak of basalt situated in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 1,5 km southwest of village Kyjov, 2 km northwest of village Doubice, in eastern edge of Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley).G 33.
Frontier village (130 m) on the right bank of river Elbe and in deep valley of river Kamenice, 10 km north of Decín, to village belong Mezní Louka, Pravcická brána, Mezná. First mention in the year 1488, German name probably according to lumberjack´s and rafter´s tavern (krecam) under hill Hornich - "tavern under rock" (it is mentioned in 1475 in connection with assault to three merchants from Nuremberg). By entry of river Kamenice used to be store-place of wood, lumberjacks and rafters built up shanties, in operation was also water-mill. With increasing output of wood since 16th century (in the years 1530-1550 came new colonists) there grew village, that was very often endangered with falling rocks and floods (especially in 1845 and 1890 - marks on hotel Labe). On river Elbe wasn´t floated only timbers - in Hrensko´s warehouses were warehoused grain, glass, and also salt importing to Bohemia. In this time were owners Saxon Salhausens, after their insolvency and bankruptcy gained Hrensko in 1612 their creditor Jan from Vartemberk, then succeeded Vchnynskýs and Aldringens, since year 1664 Clary-Aldringens. After death of general Jan Aldringen in 30-years war his estate was divided among his heirs - inhabitants of Hrensko and Mezná then be liable to four suzerains. In 1709 during life of František Karel all parts were consolidated into Bynovec´s domain. Events of 30-years war stroke Hrensko too. After unsuccessful attack to Saxon Sebnitz imperial (Austrian) army burnt Hrensko down. In 17th century importance of Hrensko as trade center increased. The main producing branch remained processing of timber. In 18th century there used to work four saw-mills, one of them was in 1892 changed to hospital during epidemic of cholera. There operated several timber-binding places, lumber was rafted also to far places. Local speciality were mighty hundred years old logs, which were delivered to ship-building yards for masts of big sail-boats. Lumber was proccessed to shingles, dishes, tools, supports for hop-gardens and other wares. In charcoal piles in the middle of forests was produced charcoal and grease. People dealt also in mushrooms. With grain business is connected development of water-mills. In Hrensko were two water-mills there - the younger one was later rebuilt into hotel Klepác. Next important branch was mining and proccessing of sandstone. People lived also upon smuggling (path Podloudnice /Smuggler/ was well-known already in 1492). People smuggled also salt, tobacco, cloth and another goods. After 30-years war appeared more rigorous measures for assurance of frontier - in 1656 we have supported station of salt supervision in Hrensko there, in thirties of 18th century station of custom duties collectors. Very important event was applying of steam navigation - first steamboat passed Hrensko in 14.6.1838. Little influence had common development of industry - sole industry plant was chemical plant producing dyes for dying of sheep wool and silk, but early it was changed into branch office of Dresden´s firm for producing of wire-stitchers (in operation until year 1945). Hrensko was originaly connected with Bohemia only with road ascending from valley to Janov and Růžová, roads along right bank of river Elbe and over Mezní Louka were constructed much later. Considerable change in life of Hrensko were stoppage of timber-rafting (until 1878 there also operated special school for rafters) and Hrensko spread from that time only as tourist center. Interesting was institution of carriers for visitors of Pravcická gate functioned until WW1 - sedan chair was carried by two men and third one, who glower relieved his comrades, commented all local objects of interest for wealthy visitor, for more heavy passengers was always asked fourth one´s assistance, so carriers could alternate during ascending to steep hillside, indolent visitors could also hire mule, which was less considerate but on the other hand cheaper mean of transport. Last owners - Clarys - early comprehended economical importance of tourist business and after year 1880 they built lucrative facilities (hotels, accessing of Silent and Wild gorges, shipment), but in 1938 they were ones of aristocratic adherents of Nazist K.Henlein, they influenced lord Runciman during his mission in Czechoslovak borderland. In WW2 was in object of former textile-plant (behind custom-house) established branch house of air-works from Bremen and into rocks were excavated tunnels (today warehouse). Towards the close of war was concealed in Hrensko archives of "Main authority for Reich security", originaly conducted by Reinhard Heydrich (killed by Czechoslovak paratroopers in 1942). Towards the close of war through Hrensko also passed transports of prisoners from evacuated concentration camps. In the year 1964 were reconstructed both gorges by the substantial assistance of army. In the present time Hrensko lost nature of health resort because it is completely crowd with stalls of Vietnamese dealers who border also road from custom-house to Hrensko. In lower part of village we can find baroque church of st. Jan Nepomucký from 1786. South above village behind serpentines of road to Janov there is pseudo-gothic cemetery chapel, by road close to chapel there is small room carved into rock with date 1737. Secession construction from break of century (19th/20th) (hotel Labe), recreational construction from thirtieth of 20th century. Small memorial in memory of two Soviet pilots downed there during scramble at end of war. Frontier pass (foot-passenger, road and naval) to Germany and exchange offices (custom-house 700 m and state border 1,5 km north of entry river Kamenice into river Elbe). Access to rocks above village is prohibited - danger of falling rocks, rockclimbing objects east of road crossing by Silent gorge. Post, police, petrol station, bus to Vysoká Lípa, Decín, in summer season shipping to Decín. R 11, R 14, Y 13, educational path. Surroundings: Labská vyhlídka (Elbe´s out-look) 170 m above entry of river Kamenice - not-marked path, Janovská vyhlídka (Janov´s out-look) (in elbow of road from Hrensko to Janov), out-look Rybárský kámen (Fishing stone), Soutesky Tichá a Divoká (Silent and Wild gorges).
Valley municipality (342 m, after consolidating 2500 citizens) by river Chribská Kamenice 10 km southwest of Varnsdorf, 8 km northeast of Ceská Kamenice. It is constituted from local parts: Chribská-town, Dolní (Lower) and Horní (Upper) Chribská, Nová (New) Chribská, Krásné Pole (Pretty field) and Rybniště (Fishing place). Name is probably derived from ancient-czech language "chrb or chrib" = hillock (chribský = hilly), according to nature of landscape. Originaly old Slav´s settlement in hollow, through which routed (through place called V průsmyku - In pass) old trade route from Bohemia to Lusatia. The oldest scriptural mention (about privilege) from year 1383, it became town in 1570. In Upper Chribská originated one of the oldest glass works in Bohemia (allegedly already in 15th century) that operates until today. Chribská wasn´t seat of aristocracy but trade and handicrafts, therefore it remained open town without walls and gates, defence was secured by guild of bowmen (town´s privilege) and since 1596 by association of shooters. In 1661 came into existence guild of glass-painters. During 30-years war there was whole year 1633 headquartes of generalAlbrecht from Valdštejn (= in time before his death in Cheb), town suffered from invasions of Swedes in the years 1639 and 1648, in surroudings of town burst savage battles between Austria and Prussia in 1757 and 1778, accomodation of Prussian army in 1866. Large floods, especially in the year 1705. Home weavering developed into textile industry after 1786 (permission to import English wool), producing of coffee substitutes established in 1806, producing of threads since 1830, sewing silk and yarn since 1840, later on also producing of glass casts. Chribská´s dam from the years 1912-1924 (reservoir of drinking water, bathing prohibited). During WW2 there was small prisoner camp in Chribská, at the end of war passed through town march of death of prisoners from concentration camp in Schwarzheide, 9 of them were shot by cemetery wall (memorial tablet and monument at cemetery). In 80th of 20 century construction of residential panel houses, reconstruction of roads, construction of recreational buildings. Originaly gothic church of st. Jirí (George), completely rebuilt about year 1596, other adaptations in 1670, re-gothized in 1901, baroque and rococo equipment. Tower was raised in 1649, adapted in 19th century, two bells from 1460 and 1598 (with czech inscriptions). In the wall of church were put tombstones from 16th and 17th century. By entry into former churchyard there are two arms of cloisters with corner chapels (baroque from 1761), pseudo-gothic chapel from 1875, in churchyard´s wall there are tombstones from beginning of 19th century, also of glass-maker Antonín Kittel who died in 1820. Behind church were recently mounted baroque statues of st. Jan Nepomucký from 1751 and Virgin Mary from 1752, which were moved to this place from former narrow stone bridge over river Chribská Kamenice, that was demolished during extending of road. Former parsonage (nr. 9), on stone portal blazon of Kinskýs and date 1726. North of square there is baroque chapel from 1722. On the square new-gothic town-hall from 1866, octagonal fountain from first half of 19th century. Folk houses with combined building techniques, labourer´s houses, often classicismly incased and with slate decorated gables. Natives: Tadeus Haenke (1761-1817) - considerable intellectual of his time, doctor, botanist (he also examined flora of Krkonoše - Giant Mountains), geologists, traveller (he died during unexplained accident on territory of present Bolivia), discoverer of flower victoria regina, his botanical collections from South America are today in National museum in Prague (on facade of building there is also his name Haenke). Memorial tablet on his native house on the square beside town-hall (from 1855, complemented in 1961) with marble relief. Painter Eliáš Hille, son of tailor, whose catholic family had to moved to Schwerin (present Germany) in 1593 (when domain belonged to protestant aristocracy). Glass work follows up with tradition - exclusive hand-made production, great successes on foreign expositions. Post, cinema, health center, drugstore, train (4 km), bus to Varnsdorf, Rumburk, Ceská Kamenice, Decín. B 25, G 26, Y 23. Surroundings: Spravedlnost (Justice hill), Doubice, Chribský castle, Studenec (Cold hill), Krížový Buk (Cross Beech), Javor (Maple hill), Little Stožec, Plešivec.
Main affluent (long 22 km) of river Kamenice, with that almost parallely flows from Lužické hory (Lusatian mountains) to Decínská vrchovina (Decín´s highlands). It springs near railway station Jedlová, at first it charges Jedlovské rybníky (Jedlová´s lakes), soon river is delayed by dam in Chribská, before Jetrichovice it forms romantic valley Pavlino údolí (Pauline´s valley) surrounded by rocks (R 24) - today natural reservation - and by Všemily it empties itself into river Kamenice. Mostly it flows through forests and interesting tourists setting, only in open coomb by Chribská it is accompanied by agriculture surroundings. In villages by the river are preserved old folk buildings of Lusatian type.
Chribská prehrada (Chribská´s dam)
Chribský hrádek (Chribský castle), (also Dolní Karlštejn - Lower Charles stone or only Charles stone)
Rests of slight rocky castle on steep rock falling vertically to south (about 30 m) with access from north. It is situated 2 km northwest of Chribská, 2 km southwest of Doubice, in valley of Doubice´s brook, by road from Dolní Chribská to Doubice close to former gamekeeper´s lodge U sloupu (By column) (from it to northeast). Without historic scriptural mentions, probably it was one of guard-castles on branching line from Lusatian path. It became defunct probably in 15th century. Access from north by system of former defensive mounds and moats, on southern rock of upper castle is excavated square ground of former main wooden tower, with gothic niche, close to it there is carved date 1690. Part of rock in the year 1850 fell into valley of brook. Almost without out-look. Out of tourist marked paths.
Chribský vrch (Chribský hill)
Wooded knoll (621 m) above southern edge of Chribskokamenická kotlina (Chribská Kamenice´s kettle hole), 2 km south of Chribská. From sporadic rocks on hill-sides near top are partial out-looks from northwest to northeast - G 26 comes round hill on north and east, branching line to top.
Janov (John´s village)
Desultory village (325 m) along road on knoll between valleys of river Kamenice (north) and Suché Kamenice (Dry Kamenice) (south), 2 km southeast of Hrensko, until 1990 it was local part of village Arnoltice, today indenpendent. Formerly there lived rafters and weavers, partly also farmers. Late baroque chapel. Preserved folk buildings of combined type, one- and also two-storeyed. In fields southwest of village there stands former wind-mill, round brick building from sandstone blocks from 1844 (today recreational object). North of hamlet towers Janovský vrch (346 m) with good out-look. Y 13. Bus to Decín.
Janovský vrch (Janov´s hill)
Incorrectly Svetlík or Clary´s hill (346 m) in the middle of Czech Switzerland, round out-look also far into Saxon Switzerland, gloriet from year 1881.
Village (230 m) in valley of river Kamenice surrounded by rocks by entries of brooks Olešnicka (left bank) and Bystricka (right bank), 3 km west of Ceská Kamenice, of which it was local part until 1990, today indenpendent. Large poultry farm (egg-production). One- and two-storeyed folk houses of combined type. Bus to Ceská Kamenice, Vysoká Lípa, Decín.
Javor (Maple hill)
Square-built wooded basalt pile (693 m) in Klíc´s mountainous country of Lusatian mountains, 1,5 km north of hamlet Mlýny, 4 km south-south-east of Chribská. Top of hill is surrounded by straggled rocks, but former out-look is today obstructed by overgrown trees, partial out-looks are possible from clearings on hill-side. On southwestern foot by Lucní potok (Meadow brook) there is small water-fall. In early 20th century into enclosure on foot of hill were planted out several izards imported from Alps (later were planted out also near Na Tokání). Izards moved to this region in the years 1907-1918 acclimatized there very well and multiplied, in present time they live on several rocky hills of Kytlická hornatina (Kytlice´s mountainous country). On northern foot there is rest of gallery in sandstone (socalled Stríbrný důl - Silver mine) - it gives evidence of ores exploring, probably iron ores. G 26 routes along southwestern hill-side, not over top of hill, R 24 goes more to north through saddle between Javor (Maple hill) and Hrebec (Stallion hill).
Jedlina (Fir hill)
Wooded sandstone hill (490m, highest in Jetrichovické steny), 1 km north of Na Tokání, 3 km west-south-west of Doubice. On southern shouler there are interesting rocky formations, vents and dingles. Y 23.
Basalt hill (478 m) in Klíc´s mountainous country, crowned by isolated pointed rocks (hence its name), which steeply falling to southwest. Arranged path (already from year 1879) routes along rocks with columnar separation of basalt through shallow hollow called Trpaslicí pánev (Dwarf´s pan) to rock with outlook (banisters). Out-looks to south and west (the nearest town Ceská Kamenice, by foot of rock is situated former shooting-range), south - Zámecký vrch (Castle hill), southeast - Kamenický Šenov, Klíc (Key), southwest - in far distance Sedlo (Saddle hill), Milešovka, west - Decínský Snežník (Decín´s Snowy hill), northwest - Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), in far distance formations of Saxon Switzerland (Zschirnstein etc.), outlooks to north and east are reduced. Adjoining inaccessible rock is called Trubac (Bugleman). On foot of Jehla sheltered themselves in the year 1680 armed people from Kamenice´s domain - participants of suppressed peasant rebellion. Jehla is spun round by numerous legends, especially about rocky elfs, who had there their own small brewery. B 25, from it branching line to top of hill.
Jeskyne ceských bratrí (Cave of Czech friars)
Cave originated by deep erosion of rock, on the educational path of Czech-German friendship under Pravcická brána (gate). In period after battle on Bílá hora (1620) it was probably refuge of protestant exiles.
Jeskyne víl (Cave of nymphs)
Rocky overhang and underground spaces on hill-side on right bank of river Krinice. In winter beautiful icicles and ice-curtains.
Protracted valley village (230 m) along brook Jetrichovická Belá (Jetrichovice´s White brook), 5,5 km north-north-west of Ceská Kamenice. Administrative parts are also villages Rynartice, Všemily and Vysoká Lípa. Mostly recreational character, numerous private and firm´s objects and health resorts. Village originated in connection with foundation of castle Falkenštejn at end of 14th century (mention in the year 1378), after its defunction was in 1457 appropriateness of castle Tolštejn. In the year 1494 Zikmund from Vartenberk confered privilege to brew and sell beer upon village magistrate Matej Pešek. In the year 1778 during Prussian invasion soldiers and deserters plundered village and even some near rocky refuges. People used to live upon agriculture and weavering. Natural situation created conditions for local climatic, mineral and peat spa (no more today). In side above road is situated late baroque (reconstructed) church of st. Jan Nepomucký from 1752, enlarged in 1791, equipment mostly from 19th century (statue of Madonna from 1730), tower from year 1828 (bell with inscription and date 1506 is from Litomerice), churchyard with tombstones. In village there are well preserved buildings of folk architecture (timber and half-timbered, one-storeyed and two-storeyed too). In rocky amphitheatre (called Nové Švýcarsko - New Switzerland) behind health resort under overhang there is so-called Dianin tábor (Diana´s camp) and opening Jeskyne skrítku (Dwarf´s cavern). Natural bathing place and camp 1 km south of village by river Chribská Kamenice (by road to Všemily, R 17). In surroundings of village are numerous rockclimbing objects. Post, police. Bus to Hrensko, Ceská Kamenice, Decín. R 17, G 20, Y 21.
Jetrichovická Belá (Jetrichovice´s White brook or only Belá - White brook too)
Brook beginning in Jetrichovice (R 17 and 24, G 20) and through rocky valley flows to Dolský mlýn (Ground mill), where after about 7 km from spring issues into river Kamenice. Almost along whole duration follows Y 21 it.
Jetrichovické skály (Jetrichovice´s rocks)
(This denomination isn´t identical with wider geographic term Jetrichovické steny - Jetrichovice´s walls), it is tourist denomination for ring of sandstone rocky walls, headlands and towers which from north and east surround village Jetrichovice. Out-looks dominants are on the north hill Kolište and Rudolfův kámen (Rudolph´s stone), on northeast and east Vilemínina stena (Vilemína´s wall), Mariina skála (Maria´s rock), Havraní kámen (Crow´s stone) and Falkenštejn (Falcon stone), on southwest Cedicový vrch (Basalt hill). Some names aren´t original - in 19th century three the most outstanding heights were re-named after members of owner´s family - house of prince Kinský. R 17 is axis routing over most of that places, between Jetrichovice and Šaunštejn is followed by educational path - Jetrichovické skály (Jetrichovice´s rocks).
Jetrichovická stena (Jetrichovice´s wall)
On older maps mentioned denomination for Vilemínina stena (Vilemína´s wall) - one from rocks by Jetrichovice, with original name Cerná stena (Black wall).
Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls)
Smaller one from two parts of Decínská vrchovina (Decín´s highlands). Very articulated territory with large amount of canyon-valleys lies by state border north of lower flow of river Kamenice (Mezní Louka) and in riverside of Krinice. To this territory belong Pravcická brána (Pravcická gate), Krídelní stena (Wing´s wall), bizarre rocks by Jetrichovice, but also Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley) and border canyon of river Krinice. Due to limited accessibility by cars this area preserved its undamaged nature and value for tourists.
Kachní potok (Duck´s brook)
It flows through woods of Růžovská vrchovina (Rosy highlands). It springs on western hill-side of Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), below that intersects Y 13, then flows between villages Růžová (Rosy village) and Kamenická Strán (Kamenice´s Side) to north-north-west, in lower flow it creates Hluboký důl (Deep valley) and in its end in Divoká souteska (Wild gorge) it empties itself from left into river Kamenice.
Kamenice (Stone river)
Right-sided affluent of river Labe (Elbe) coming from Lužickéhory (Lusatian mountains). Along with its aflluents Kamenice forms and moulds broken territory of eastern part of Labské pískovce (Elbe´s sandstones). It springs in surroundings of Hranicní rybník (Frontier lake) (sometimes is designated as spring of river small well and pool above railway station Jedlová by gamekeeper´s lodge Nová Hut - New glass-work), it flows at first to west through picturesque and wooded Kytlice´s valley, it makes its way through canyon below Pustý zámek (Abandoned chateau), behind Ceská Kamenice it turns to north, by Všemily takes in its sisterly brook Chribská Kamenice, whereupon it forms to northwest directing canyons of Gorges: Srbskokamenická (Srbská Kamenice´s, Ferdinand´s too) - B 18, Divoká (Wild) and Tichá (Silent), in village Hrensko (R 14) empties itself after 36 km into river Elbe. Riverside of Kamenice is much-frequented territory for tourists and holiday-makers. Upper and central flow of river to confluence with Chribská Kamenice is followed by road. This part of river used to be called also Falknovská Kamenice (Falknov´s Kamenice).
Kamenická Stráň (Kamenice´s side)
Small mainly recreational hamlet (part of village Růžová) (300 m) above canyon of Srbskokamenická souteska (Srbská Kamenice´s gorge), 4 km west of Jetrichovice, 2 km north of Růžovská vrch (Rosy hill). Valuable collection of folk buildings (architectonic reservation): one-storeyed timber cottages, buildings with garret half-storey and half-timbered gable, two-storeyed buildings with half-timbered second floor. Y 21.
Kamenický hrad (Kamenice´s castle)
Ruin of castle on Zámecký vrch (Castle hill), vide Ceská Kamenice. Branch line G 26.
Kamenský vrch (Kamenný vrch) (Kámen´s hill, or Stone hill)
Height (432 m) situated in Růžovská hornatina (Rosy hilly country), 5 km northeast of Decín, 1 km southwest of Bynovec, 1 km northwest of hamlet Kámen (name of hill after this hamlet). Partly bald top offers out-looks: Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), Lužické hory (Lusatian mountains) - Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill), Jedlová (Fir hill), Klíc (Key), east-north-east Studenec (Cold hill), east Zámecký vrch (Castle hillby Ceská Kamenice), south characteristic outline of Ceské stredohorí (Czech Middlemountains). G 10a passes round along western and northern foot of hill.
Kamenný vrch (Stone hill)
Wooded granite knoll (509 m) on southern edge Šluknovská pahorkatina (Šluknov´s hilly country), 1 km southwest of village Vlcí Hora. In vicinity passes line of Lusatian pushed over formation - dividing line between block´s sandstones (southwest) and coarse-grained Brtník´s granite (northeast). This line runs through saddle between Kamenný vrch and Vinné kameny (Viny stones) in northwest, where occurs so-called tectonic mirrors (= rocks with smoothed walls).
Kancí rokle (Svinský důl) (Boar´s dingles, or Sow´s valley)
Pictursque and broken dingles with rocks (rockclimbing objects) 1,5 km long, 2 km east of village Srbská Kamenice (Wendish Kamenice), its axis forms Svinský potok (Sow´s brook), above that routes old Kamenitá cesta (Kunratická) (Rubbly road, or Kunratice´s). In entanglement of branched dingles we have to follow tourist mark, along route many out-looks, especially into rocky labyrinth, the highest point is hill Borovina (Pine-wood hill). B 18.
Karlštejn (Charles stone)
Denomination formerly used for Chribský hrádek (Chribská´s castle) between Chribská and Doubice, called also Dolní Karlštejn (Lower Charles stone). Horní Karlštejn (Upper Charles stone) is designated Kyjovský hrad (Kyjov´s castle).
Rocky amphitheatre on left bank of river Krinice in side valley turning from Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley) to south, formed by 20 high walls. According to legend origin of its name is connected with robber´s knights, who are rumoured to gather there their looted treasures. By orifice of Klenotnice routes Y 34.
Kocicí kostel (Cat´s church)
From afar visible solitary sandstone tower on northeastern shoulder of hill Vyhlídka (Outlook) (320 m), about 300 m north of church in Jetrichovice. Slim tower, high about 30 m, is on the top wider than on the foot, top is accessible only for rockclimbers by climbing routes of 7th and higher difficulty-grades.
One of dominants (453 m) in panorama of Jetrichovické skály (Jetrichovice´s rocks), 1,5 km north of Jetrichovice. German name Golischt probably originated from adoption of ancient Slav´s name Golica (= Bald hill). Along eastern, southern and western shoulder of protracted wooded sandstone hill passes R 17.
Village along road on upper flow of Brtnický potok (Brtník´s brook), west of Brtníky, local part of municipality Staré Krecany. Preserved mainly one-storeyed buildings, especially nr. 18 and 24. Below wood chapel from 1809. B 22.
Krásná Lípa (Nice linden)
Town (426 m, 4000 inhabitants) by upper flow of river Krinice, 7 km west of Varnsdorf, 4 km southwest of Rumburk. Local parts are also Hely, Kamenná Horka (Stone hill), Krásný Buk (Nice beech), Kyjov, Vlcí Hora (Wolfish hill), Dlouhý důl (Long valley), Snežná (Snowy village), Zahrady (Gardens), until 1990 Stará (Old) and Nová (New) Doubice. Textile industry. After destroying of castle Krásný Buk (Nice beech) in 1339 some privileges were assigned to owner of so-called Stará rychta (Old Magistrate-house) (on crossing of roads), that was in 1731 demolished during constructing of town-marketplace on present square, in same time rebirth of village into small town, development of industry (in 1731 Englishman Barnes established first bleaching-ground). Pillaging during invasion of Prussians in 1757, further war-sufferings in years 1778, 1813 and 1866. In the year 1795 torrential rain and flooding. In 1870 during next industrialization Krásná Lípa became town. On side above square on place of older church from 14th century was built in the years 1754-1758 baroque church of st. Mary Magdalena (equipment from 18th and 19th century, also painting from J.Tkadlík from 1823), tower from 1777, staircase with statues from 1818. On former churchyard (until 1882) there are two rococo tombs (from 1792 and 1794) and another from break of 18th and 19th century. Near, west of church there is Kostelní vrch (Church hill), where used to stay chapel and Stations of the Cross from years 1857-1859. In town there are baroque and classicism houses, wooden and brick too, with classicism portals from first half of 19th century, also later Renaissance town buildings from end of 19th century, on town-hall is situated town-blazon. Post, cinema, police, hospital, filling station. Train. Bus to Doubice, Ceská Kamenice, Decín. R 32 and 35, B 37, G 33.
Krásné Pole (Nice field)
Protracted hamlet along brook south of Horní Chribská (Upper Chribská), 2 km southeast of Chribská, to that Krásné Pole appeertains. It originated in 1787 on fields in possession of glass-works in Horní Chribská. In period of Napoleonic blockade of overseas import to Europe there was built in 1806 factory to production of coffee substitute (roasted chicory) - first in Austria empire. Later textile industry (fibre-works), in 1840 factory for famous sewing-silk. Preserved folk buildings from Classicism.
Krásný Buk (Nice beech)
Rests of castle on wooded hillock above right bank of river Krinice, about 0,5 km west of village of same name, that arose from its extramural settlement, 2 km northwest of Krásná Lípa. Castle was founded probably in 13th century during Premyslovci´s (ruling Bohemian clan) colonization of western part of Šluknovský výbežek (Šluknov´s elongation) on territory of lords from Michalovice and later on Berkas from Dubá. In the year 1319 Jindrich from Lipá exchanged also Krásný Buk with king Jan Lucemburský, presently it passed to possession of Vartenberks. Their invasions into Lusatia were pretext of retaliatory campaign of Sixtown´s armies, which in 1339 conquered and destroyed castle Krásný Buk, a great deal of competences was assigned to lonely house by crossroad, later on called Stará rychta (Old magistrate-house). Access road routed from plateau in north through several mounds over circular moat to hillock, where used to stay wooden palace with tower, which bricked bottom is preserved till today. R 35.
Krídelní stena (Wing´s wall)
Steep rocks (456 m) bordering from east Pravcický kotel (Pravcický kettle hole) in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls). During erosion of local sandstone rocky walls originated hollows and grids formed typical honeycomb´s surface. Some towers are much-frequented by rock-climbers (for example Pevnost /Fort/, Homole /Hummock/, Velký Pravcický kužel /Big Pravcický cone/). Below rocks routes educational path. R 17.
Small river draining Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), it springs west of Studánka (Fountain) and is directed to the west. At first it flows through agglomeration of Krásná Lípa, behind Kyjov it forms in sandstone canyon of tourist-frequented Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley) (Y 34, G 33, B 22). From orifice of Bílý potok (White brook) it creates about 8 km state border with Germany, this wild section to Zadní Jetrichovice (Hinder Jetrichovice) (end of Czech road, G 16) is accessible only along tourist path routing along right bank in Germany. In summer on swelling water-level of Horní splav (Obere Schleuse - Upper sluice), constructed already in 16th century originaly for timber-rafting, are organized boat rides (similarly like in Wild and Silent Gorges near Hrensko). After 17 km river Krinice leaves territory of Czech republic, then flows (as Kirnitsch through Kirnitschtal) through Saxon Switzerland and in Bad Schandau empties itself into river Labe (Elbe).
Krinické údolí (Krinice´s valley)
On some maps denoted part of canyon of river Krinice in block´s sanstones of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), from Turistický most (Tourist bridge) (east) to bridge by entry of Brtnický (Brtník´s) and Bílý (White) brooks (west), where used to be former hamlet Zadní Doubice (Hinder Doubice). Part of Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley).
Forest northeast of village Hrensko.
Križový buk (Cross beech)
Mountain saddle (535 m) in range of Kytlice´s hilly country between Javor (Maple hill) and Široký vrch (Wide hill), meadow clearing with forester´s house. Denomination commemorates battle between Austrian and Prussian armies in 19th July 1757 close to village Líska, killed soldiers of both sides were burried near-by present forester s house and their graves commemorated cross mounted on beech-tree, in course of time denomination passed onto clearing, later forester s house and saddle, today also place-name. Starting point to natural reservation Líska (Hazel) - mesícnice vytrvalá (Perennial Honesty) (Lunaria rediviva). Bus-station. R 24, G 26.
Kuní vrch (Marten´s hill)
Wooded basalt knot (441 m) in northeastern part of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 3 km west of Kyjov, between Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley) (north) and Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley) (south).
Village (310 m) on upper flow of brook Bystricka (Swift brook), on southeastern hill-side of Vetrný vrch (Wind hill), 2 km north of Ceská Kamenice. After year 1989 it gained independence (before part of Ceská Kamenice) and today includes also hamlets Lipnice and Studený. It is mentioned already in 1416. To the south there is Eliášův vrch (Eliáš´s hill) (414 m) with out-look, Strážný (or Kunratický vrch) (Sentinel hill or Kunratice´s hill) (509 m) with wooded basalt peak. Wooden folk architecture. On the bridge used to stand baroque statue of Jan Nepomucký from 1719, some vandals threw it into brook, instead of it were stood there statue of Jesus Christ from 1879. On hill-sides of Lipnický vrch occured battle between Austrian and Prussian armies in 1757. G 20. Bus to Kamenice, Studený.
Protracted village (361 m) by river Krinice and its left-sided tributary stream, 3 km west of Krásná Lípa, 26 inhabitants. Interpretation of village name (in German Khaa) is connected either with cattle breeding or denomination of shelter - "kavna" - serving by mining of rocks or minerals in surroundings (two kinds of interpretation of former name of village leave us in suspens if it was real miner´s settlement of if the rests of dumps and depressions are only backing for tentative mining - searching for ores). Between Kyjov and Dlouhý Důl (Long valley) goes through line of Lusatian pushed over formation - dividing line between block´s sandstones (southwest) and coarse-grained Brtník´s granite (northeast), south of valley occurs small islet of Jurasic limestones (similarly as on near Vápenný vrch). Already in 1884 there was founded Mountain association for Kyjov´s valley, that made accessible interesting rocky formations and built out-looks. In village there are wooden folk buildings. Y 34. Bus to Doubice, Krásná Lípa.
Kyjovský hrad (Kyjov´s castle) (Horní Karlštejn, Pustý hrádek)(Upper Charles stone, Abandoned castle)
Rests of former rocky castle on sandstone headland (385 m) with walls vertically falling into canyon of river Krinice, 1 km west of village Kyjov. On spacious plateau (about 150 x 150 m) in attitude 40 m above water-level of river Krinice is situated site of castle that is composed of southern pre-castle separated from northern proper castle by moat along that today comes from side-dingle yellow tourist mark from Kyjov, there in the rock are traces of construction of draw-bridge and jambs for wicket. On northern site of castle are until today visible carved walls of vault with beds for beams, on eastern and western edge of rock there are out-looks into Kyjov´s valley, probably places of watch-towers. Scriptural mentions are missing, we assume origin in second half of 14th century, when region belonged to clan of Michalovici (1283-1406), who launched there their colonization effort. Castle had probably guard and protective function in proximity of Lusatian path (Norimberk (Nuremberg), Krušné hory (Ore mountains), Labe (Elbe), Žitava (Zittau), Budyšín (Bautzen)), eventually it was protection for industry enterprise (mining of ores, glass-works by Doubice). In Hussite period (1419-1436) sided with czech catholic aristocracy, later fell into controversy with Lusatian Sixtowns. In end of 15th century castle became extinct and in the course of time also its original name, that we don´t know, first scriptural mention from 1603 doesn´t give name of castle. Y 34 routes there from Kyjov along left bank or river Krinice over several romantic rocky sceneries (Bratrské kameny (Brother´s stones), Obrí hlava (Giant´s head), Klenotnice (Jewellery place)) parallely to forestry road (private cars aren´t allowed - parking place by restaurant in Kyjov).
Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley)
Part of canyon of river Krinice in block sandstones of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls). It stretched from Kyjov to northwest to Turistický most (Tourist´s bridge), from where it continues to west to bridge by entry of Brtnický (Brtník´s potok) and Bílý potok (White brook), where used to stay extinct settlement Zadní Doubice (Hinder Doubice). Presence of three medieval rocky castles (Kyjov´s, Brtník´s and Wolf´s) indicates that through valley probably routed ancient trade route from Bohemia (Krásný buk - Nice beech) to castle Hohenstein (present Germany), which in past as property of clan Berkas from Dubá belonged to Bohemian kingdom. On both sides of river are bizarre sandstone formations with romantic names - Kocka a Pes (Cat and dog), Obrí hlava (Giant´s head), Panna (Virgin), Trojcata (Triplets), Lev (Lion), Zpovednice (Confessional) etc., sandstone walls and towers (some of them are terraines for rock-climbers) and also articulated orifices of side dingles - Peklo (Hell), Travnatý důl (Grassy valley), Cesnekový důl (Garlic valley), Dlouhý důl (Long valley) etc. From confluence with White brook river Krinice forms state border to former settlement Zadní Jetrichovice (Hinder Jetrichovice) - end of Ceská silnice (Czech road). Along left bank of river Krinice routes small road leaving valley to north to settlement Kopec (Hill) and village Brtníky. Entry of cars into section from Kyjov to border and from border to Kopec isn´t permitted (parking-place by pub in village Kyjov). Near frontier-bridge over Krinice, about 100 m along forestry road, there is wooden cross indicated grave of 8 victims of death-march, that passed along this place in spring 1945. Near that place is also spring there. Yellow tourist mark in eastern part of valley routes along rocks and out-looks. It comes from village Kyjov to Vyhlídka (Out-look point) now overgrowing with trees, then continues over dingle to Bratrské kameny (Brother´s stones) and passed along (to the right) Giant´s head, here and there rests of iron banisters, from edges of several rocks out-looks into country. Further yellow mark gets over side valley and ascends to site of Kyjov´s castle (from western edge out-look into valley) and then descends into side valley at which close in rocky amphitheatre called Klenotnice (Jewellery place) there are 20 m high rocky walls and rock-climbing tower Strážce Klenotnice (Guardian of Jewellery place). According to legend there were hiding-places for treasures of robbing knights from castle... Yellow tourist mark descends to valley road where it ends, further continues red mark, we pass along cliff Certův kámen (Devil´s stone) (to the left), past 10 minutes abandoned basalt-quarry and past another 20 minutes road reaches Tourist bridge. Below Kyjov´s castle under road on the left bank there is raised from sandstone boulders two-spacial cave Vinný sklep (Wine vault) - name according to bottle-shaped ice stalactites, which creates themselves at end of winter there, according to legend routes there secret passage from castle). Past about 15 minutes of walk to west (2,5 from pub in Kyjov) turns from road to the right across foot-bridge forestry road ascending to near-by rocky overhang with underground rooms called Jeskyne víl (Nymph´s cave), in winter there is created rich decoration from ice stalactites and curtains. Red mark reaches connection with green mark, that in first direction ascends to south through Studánkový důl (Fountain´s valley) to Doubice and in second direction it continues through Kyjov´s valley to Tourist bridge, from where ascends to Brtníky. Red mark continues also through next section of valley (called also Krinické údolí - Krinice´s valley) to Brtnický most (Brtník´s bridge), in its close comes from north through valley of Brtník´s brook blue mark, that continues to south to place Na Tokání. B 22 (western edge), G 33 (middle), Y 34 (eastern half).
Labská stráň (Elbe´s side)
Village (330 m) of recreational character on upper plane on the right side of river Elbe, 3 km south of Hrensko, until 1990 local part of village Arnoltice, today independent. Wooden folk buildings. R 11. Between orifice of brook Suchá Kamenice (Dry Kamenice) and path descending to river Elbe from Belvedere there near old frontier used to stay tavern U zlatého rance (By golden pack), that was spinned round by legends about famous smugglers and their dare-devil exploits. There was born Rudolf Hanke, excellent climber, leader of illegal anti-Nazi activity in Decín´s region since 1934. After 1945 he unconstrainedly went to East Germany. He was author of autobiographic novel about Red climbers "Steile Pfede" (Steep paths), its setting is just right Labská Strán. Also after war he often used to return to local sandstone rocks, during one winter trip (he was over 70 years old) he died, he is burried in cemetery Decín-Folknáre. Bus to Decín.
Labské pískovce (Elbe´s sandstones)
Protected landscape area.
Lipnický vrch (Lipnice´s hill)
Basalt southwestern elongation (549 m) of hill Studenec (Cold hill), 3 km northeast of Ceská Kamenice. Occurence of gnat-flowers. On southern foot springs Kunratický potok (Kunratice´s brook). On southwestern foot happens in 1757 bloody batlle of Austrian and Prussian armies.
Lipový vrch (Linden hill)
Hummock (383 m) bordering southern edge of Chribskokamenická kotlina (Chribská Kamenice´s kettle hole), 0,5 km south of Chribská. Bald sides enable out-looks, especially to east to Jedlová (Fir hill) and Malý Stožec (Little Stožec) (they form profile called "spící dívka" /sleeping girl/), which rocky top looks like lying side face. Below eastern hill-side G 26.
Lísecký potok (Hazel´s brook)
Brook beginning in saddle between hills Studenec (Cold hill) and Javorek (Small maple hill) (R 24), at first it flows to southwest through village Líska (Hazel) (B 25) and then, constantly accompanied by road, it empties itself into river Kamenice in Horní Kamenice (Upper Kamenice).
Protracted valley village on southern hill-sides of Studenec (Cold hill) (natural reservation Studený vrch - Cold hill), along road from Decín to Varnsdorf. In 19th May 1757 west of Líska Austrian army attacked part of Prussian army retreating after lost battle by Kolín. After tough all-day battle defeated Prussians left there majority of their wagons and equipment. On hill-sides in surrounding woods are situated bunkers of Czechoslovak defending line from years 1936-1938. Numerous recreational objects, bathing pool. On cadastre of village Líska is situated natural relic of same name - finding place of mesícnice vytrvalá (Perennial Honesty) (Lunaria rediviva). In surroundings in volcanic rocks we can find minerals zeolits - aluminum silicates, for example gismondin. Bus to Ceská Kamenice, Decín, Chribská. B 25 (goes through village), R 24 (passes along upper edge of village).
Loupežnickýhrad (Robber´s castle)
Name also used for castle Šaunštejn by Vysoká Lípa - rocky headland (301 m) 1 km north of Vysoká Lípa, on the rocky knot was in 14th century built up gothic castle largely carved into rock, partially from wood. Castle protected Ceská cesta (silnice) (Czech road). Castle lost its importance after stabilizing of frontier (after cession of domains in Saxony to Saxon elector), at end of 15th century castle was abandoned. Far outlooks from adapted plateau.
Loupežný hrad (hrádek) (Robber´s castle)
Former name of Brtnický hrádek (Brtník´s castle) near entry of Vlcí potok (Wolfish brook) into river Krinice.
Malá hůrka (dríve Grohův vrch) (Small hill, former Groh´s hill)
Height (364 m) with basalt peak, 0,5 km west of Kunratice, north of Ceská Kamenice, out-look. From cross on northwestern foot so-called Kamenitá cesta (Rubbly road), in 2nd half only forestry road, it continues to northwest to Všemily (another Kamenitá cesta is by Jetrichovice).
Malá Pravcická brána (Small Pravcická gate)
Rocky formation (400 m) in block´s sandstones of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 2 km east of Mezní Louka (Frontier meadow), 4,5 km east-south-east of Pravcická brána (Pravcická gate). It arose from erosion of rocks in narrow sandstone crest. It is substantially smaller analogue of "big" Pravcická gate - width only 3,3 m, height 2,3 m, depth 1-1,5 m, upper arch (accessible only for rock-climbers) is situated 5-10 m above foot. Former out-look to north to Tanecnice (Danceuse), Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill) etc. is reduced by outgrowing trees. R 17.
Malý Semerink (Small Semerink)
Recreational center above railway station Chribská with old tradition of summer resort, situated high in saddle (name after famous defile Semmering by Wien in Austria.
Mariina skála (Maria´s rock)
Newer name of middle one from three characteristic sandstone peaks (247 m), 1 km northeast of Jetrichovice, formerly called Velký Ostrý (Big sharp rock). During 1 km long ascent we surmount about 400 wooden or carved stairs. From small out-look plateau (with small wooden booth) we can enjoy outlooks from north over west to southeast. Traditionally much-frequented place for watching sunsets or sunrises. On western and southwestern hill-side in dingles there are rocky towers with climbing-routes. R 17 (with branching line to top).
Matzseidelův důl (Matzseidel´s valley)
Valley turning to the right from valley of brook Suchá Belá (Dry White brook) about 1 km before entry of Suchá Belá into Dlouhá Belá (Long White brook). On both sides are rocky massives with rock-climbing towers.
Wooded sandstone hill (442 m) on eastern edge of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 1,5 km southwest of Kyjov between Studánkový důl (Fountain´s valley) (west) and Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley) (north). Along western shoulder routesG 33.
Small agricultural village (380 m) on right bank of river Kamenice above Mezní můstek (meeting of Silent and Wild gorges), 1,5 km southwest of Mezní Louka, 4 km east-south-east of Hrensko. Largely recreational settlement. Folk architecture, wooden buildings from 19th century. Access along blind road from Mezní Louka (1,5 km) (road Hrensko - Jetrichovice). Bus to Hrensko, Vysoká Lípa.
Mezní Louka (Frontier meadow or Boundary field)
Settlement in the middle of forests (275 m), center of tourist activity (tourist industry) utilized for recreation, tourism and hunting, 5,5 km east of Hrensko (Mezní Louka is local part of Hrensko). Originaly only forester´s house (preserved until today). Since 1892 climatic spa changed to hotel, in 1959 completely re-built, in proximity chalet s camp and camp (operation of climatic spa was stopped already sooner similarly as Jetrichovice´s climatic spa). In two-storeyed building nr. 37 there is stone portal with date 1794, second floor is panelled by timber, mansard roof. By road to Hrensko (about 800 m, elevation point 230 m) there is memorable tree called Cikánský smrk (Gipsy spruce) - migty specimen of smrk ztepilý (picea abies) (height 30 m, age over 200 hundred years, periphery in breast s height 320 cm). Bus to Hrensko, Vysoká Lípa. R 14 and 17, B 18, G 16, educational path. Surroundings: starting point to educational path to Pravcická gate, to the south descent into canyon of river Kamenice - Silent and Wild Gorge, Hrensko, Malá Pravcická brána (Small Pravcická gate), castle Šaunštejn, Hluboký důl (Deep valley).
Mezní můstek (Mezná´s bridge)
Bridge across river Kamenice, it divides Tichá (Silent) and Divoká (Wild) Gorges, along which routes path connecting villages Mezná and Růžová. G 16.
Mlýnská rokle (Mlynárův důl) (Mill dingle or Miller´s valley)
2,5 km long rocky valley in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) north of Vysoká Lípa. Descent begins on crossing about 700 m west of Malá Pravcická brána, valley descends at first to northeast under western and northern hill-sides of Mlýnský vrch (Mill hill) (also called Soví vrch - Owl´s hill) (475 m) and then directs to north to Ceská silnice (Czech road) (behind Czech road follows up Soudkový důl /Keg´s valley/ in the direction to Panenská jedle /Virgin fir/, not-marked). R 17 on upper edge of dingle close to crossing of 3 ways (left way through Tondova díra /Tonda´s hole/ to Hluboký důl /Deep valley/, middle along wooded ridge, right to Mlýnská rokle /Mill dingle/), G 16 available along Czech road about 500 m to northwest.
Mnich (Kapucínská skála) (Monk or Capuchin´s rock)
One of numerous sandstone towers (347 m) on the right bank of river Elbe utilized for sporting climbing, it is situated in Snežnická hornatina (Snowy highlands), 1,5 km south of village Labská Strán (Elbe´s Side) on southern edge of side ravine with small brook. This rock is connected with ancient-Slav´s legend about the engaged couple - sentinels of sacred fires, who didn´t accomplish to watch their fires before devil sorcerer and they therefore turned to stone on the spot (he - Monk, she - Nun on the opposite bank of Elbe). Not-marked access from marked path R 11.
Mokrý důl u Ceské silnice (Wet valley by Czech road)
Short (about 1 km) wooded valley in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) getting out from Czech road (south-west of Ptací kámen - Bird´s stone) from Skalní výbežek (Rocky elongation) to east, it ascends through sandstone rocks under Ptací kámen, from where it continues (at first to east) as Táborový důl (Camp valley). Access of cars is prohibited.
Mokrý důl u Mezní Louky (Wet valley by Mezní Louka)
Short (about 1 km) valley emerging from hunting cottage (on G 16 500 m north of Mezní Louka) to the left to western direction. On its end way links up with educational path of "Czech-German friendship" and R 14.
Mostkový důl (Bridge valley)
Better Hatový důl (Hurdle valley) in surroundings of village Jetrichovice.
Short valley (1,5 km) in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) emerging from Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley) to the south (about 1 km east of entry ofCervený potok /Red brook/ into river Krinice) and ascends pretty steeply to crossing Panenská jedle (Virgin fir). Wet terraine used to be stabilized by corduroy bridges (name after these bridges). B 22 passes through.
Myší díry (Mouse´s holes)
Narrow rocky cleft in amphitheatre north of Na Tokání. Component of complex Úzké schody (Narrow stairs).
Nad Dolským mlýnem (Above ground mill)
Denomination of natural reservation 0,5 km northeast of hamlet Kamenická Strán (Kamenice´s Side). On dry sandstone rock on left side of river Kamenice originated on outbreaking Artesian spring small peat-bog pine-wooded with typical peat-bog´s vegetation - for example brusinka (cranberry), klikva bahenní (small cranberry) (Oxycoccus palustris), suchopýr pochvatý (Hare's-tail Cottongrass) (Eriophorum vaginata) and especially rojovník bahenní (Labrador-tea) (Ledum palustre). In sandstone territory such finding place is rare and therefore protected. Branching line from Y 21 and educational path "Růžová".
Gamekeeper´s lodge and group of log houses in Alpine style (400 m), 3 km northeast of Jetrichovice. Already long ago there used to stay watch-house and refuge of lord´s gamekeepers, in small cave excavated into the rock-wall behind one of cottages there is date 1563. For owners of domain (Kinskýs) and their guests were built log houses serving before all during wood grouse shooting, in 19th century it became also point of support of developing tourism (first mention in tourist-guide from Rynartice´s forester František Náhlík from 1864 and czech Rivnác´s guide from 1882). After fire in 1905 (destroyed also large collection of hunting trophies) were built present buildings. On top of rock there is water tank for former pool. In dingles east of log houses used to be pitch-furnaces for production of grease from pine stumps and refuges of people during wars. In summer 1938 prince Kinský entertained british lord Runciman, he met there German aristocratic supporters of Henlein from Bohemia and Moravia, among others Hohenlohe on whose Cervený hrádek (Red castle) by Chomutov Runciman met Henlein. Today log houses serve as recreational objects (among others Police of Czech republic too), in one of them you can buy refreshment in summer season. B 22 (goes through), Y 23 (near-by to east on meadow - crossing of tourist paths). Road (from former gamekeeper´s lodge U sloupu - By column) is closed for cars.
Na zámecku (též Zámecek) (On chateau, also Chateau hill)
Rocky height (391 m) north and west above Vysoká Lípa. From bottom edges of wood and from several top-rocks (on south and east) partial out-looks. In surroundings former forester´s house, present pension Na zámecku. B 18 along southern shoulder.
Nová Chribská (New Chribská)
Valley village (460 m) founded in 1833 during boom of glass and textile industry in surroundings, in northeast links up with Chribská, of which is local part. In hamlet Na Sedle (On Saddle) (480 m) there is house nr. 67 (Mr Wajgl), that stands just right on dividing range of Northern sea and Baltic sea, so water from its roof flows into two seas. G 26.
Nová Oleška (New Oleška)
Valley village (250 m) in valley of Bynovecký potok (Bynovec´s brook) and its right-sided affluent, 2,5 km south of Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), 6 km west-north-west of Ceská Kamenice. It originated probably in 16th century as offshoot of village Stará Oleška (Old Oleška). On protracted hillock west above village there stands one-nave church of The holiest Trinity (about year 1800) with prismatic tower, equipment from 19th and 20th century. Folk houses of combined type (timber with half-timbered).
Brook flowing from Dobrnská vrchovina (Dobrná´s highlands) to northeast. It springs by Huntírov, through that flows too (G 10b, Y 9), by village Stará Oleška (Old Oleška) waters recreational Olešský rybník (Oleška´s lake) (B 12) and then it falls through narrow rocky pictursque valley (in this part brook was also called Zlatý potok - Golden brook) into valley of river Kamenice and into that it empties itself in hamlet Janská.
Olešský rybník (Oleška´s lake)
Large (12 ha) sheet of water of much-frequented area on brook of Olešnička east of village Stará Oleška, 5 km west of Ceská Kamenice. On northern bank of lake is adapted bathing place with sandy and grassy beach, cottage´s settlements, summer camps, restaurant, boat and treading-boats hire office. B 12. Car-camp. Bus to Decín, Srbská Kamenice, Jetrichovice. Railway station 1,5 km in Veselé pod Rabštejnem.
Olešský vrch (Oleška´s hill, incorrectly Hrábe - Earl)
Distinct basalt knoll (355 m) in Habartická kotlina (Habartice´s kettle hole), 4 km west of Ceská Kamenice, 1 km south-east of Olešský rybník. From bottom edge of wood on southern shoulder are partial out-looks. B 12 along northern shoulder.
Ospalý důl (Drowsy valley)
Short (about 1 km) valley emerging from hunting cottage (on green tourist mark G 16 500 m north of Mezní Louka) to right to eastern direction. Along its whole length routes. If we would continue further along G 16 we reach Hluboký důl (Deep valley).
Former Vysoký kámen (High stone), later Rudolfův kámen (Rudolph´s stone), sometimes called Ostroh, out-look rock (484 m) north of Jetrichovice.
Orešník (Walnut hill)
Hummock (383 m) on southern edge of Chribskokamenická kotlina (Chribská Kamenice´s kettle hole), 1 km southwest of centre of Chribská. From top out-looks to surrounding hills and Chribská´s valley. Along eastern hill-side routes B 25.
Pastevní vrch (Pasture hill)
Not-wooded knoll (402 m) on plain of Růžovská vrchovina (Rosy highlands) east of village Růžová (Rosy village). Conditions for far and beautiful out-look (mayor of village would like to build out-look tower there).Y 13 along west and southern foot.
Pavlino údolí (Pauline´s valley)
3 km long rocky valley, tourist much-frequented section of river Chribská Kamenice (plenty of trouts) roughly between villages Studený and Jetrichovice. It begins in the east by tributary stream of Studený potok (Cold brook), meanderingly runs through wooded sandstone hill-sides and rocks to west, it leads into wide valley mead near Griesl´s mill (former yarn-works, today recreation building for children from Prague), where is meadow, dried lake, natural bathing place and camp. On western edge (before lake) there is rocky niche called Rusalcina jeskyne (Water nymph´s cave). Bus-stations Jetrichovice-koupaliste (bathing place), Studený. R 24 passes through valley, B 22 begins on its eastern edge (below Rynartice), G 20 passes along eastern edge (Griesl´s mill). Access into valley also from southeast from village Studený and Lipnice or from northwest from Rynartice.
Petrín (Peter´s hill)
One of hills (379 m) on plateau of Růžovská vrchovina (Rosy highlands), 0,5 km south of village Růžová. On western shoulder of wooded top (by road to Bynovec) there is building of former wind-mill (today recreational object - pension, boarding house), below it former cemetery, access by not-marked path. Y 13 passes through village Růžová.
Písecný vrch (Sand hill)
Not-wooded hill (310 m) between villages Hrensko and Janov.
Pohovka (Couch in Hrensko´s rocks)
Out-look point 0,5 km east of Pravcická gate above Pravcický důl (valley) with prospects into deep rocky kettle.
Rocky height in saddle between Kolište and Rudolfův kámen (Rudolph´s stone) with crossing of tourist marked paths R 17 and G 20. Wooded, with partial out-looks. To the north routes romantic not-marked valley road through rocks into Morký důl (Wet valley) and to Ceská silnice (Czech road).
Ponova louka (Pon´s meadow)
Natural reservation 2 km northeast of Mezní Louka by state border in territory of Detské skály (Children´s rocks). On basalt outbreak is situated smaller kettle hole that surrounded forestry meadow, dendroflora is formed by old beech-wood with tinge of pine, maple, spruce, warmth-loving flora undergrowth with dominant strdivka jednokvetá (wood melic). Out of marked paths.
Pravcická brána (Pravcická gate)
National natural relic, the biggest natural rocky arch in Middle Europe, 3 km east-north-east from Hrensko, 2 km to northwest from Mezní Louka, on educational path of "Czech-German friendship". It originated in turon´s block sandstones on narrow southwestern end of small rocky ridge from millions years lasting mouldering of sandstone grains to present stage. Bottom of Pravcická gate lies in attitude 415 m (215 m above water-level of brook Dlouhá Belá - Long White brook), span at bottom is 26,5 m, height of opening is 16 m, upper part of arch is 21 m above bottom, width of arch 7-8 m, minimal thick-ness is 3 m, attitude difference between out-look and water-level of river Elbe in Hrensko is 350 m. Ascents (stairs, banisters) routes on the one hand to arch of proper Pravcická gate (447 m) - today closed (protection against grinding off), on the other hand to extended out-look (iron bridge with length 17 m), further to out-look on adjacent more to north situated rocky ridge (450 m), in tourist season you have to pay entrance-fee. Large amounts (about 1200 people per day) of visitors endangered by rubing off sandstone the rocky bridge, therefore since 1980 is access closed. Out-looks: northwest - Grosse Winterberg (552 m, Germany), overgrew with leafy forest, on its southern foot towers Stríbrná stena (Silver wall) (above it passes along state border), west - behind valley of river Elbe there are table hills in Germany, in distance Lilienstein and Königstein, more near Kaiserkrone and Zirkelstein, west-south-west - gradual double ridge Grosse and Kleine Zschirnstein, southwest - sloping down table hill Decínský Snežník (721 m) (Decín´s Snowy hill) with out-look tower, behind we can sometimes see ridge of Krušné hory (Ore mountains), south-south-west peaks of Ceské stredohorí (Czech Middlemountains) with Milešovka, south - very close line of canyon of river Kamenice (Silent and Wild Gorges), behind it agriculturaly utilized Bynovecká plošina (Bynovec´s plateau), in background Buková hora (Beech hill) (TV transmitter tower), south-south-east Ostrý (Sharp hill), southeast - characteristic cone of Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), southeast and east-south-east in distance peaks of Lusatian mountains Klíc (Key), Studenec (Cold hill), east Jedlová (Fir hill), Luž, behind them exceptionaly top of Ješted, northeast - Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill). From adjacent out-looks also looks to southeast to near Krídelní stena (Wing´s wall) and characteristic Pravcický kužel (Pravický cone). Restaurant Sokolí hnízdo (Falcon´s nest) - originaly spa and mountain hotel from year 1882 - today refreshment in summer season (predecessor was tourist tavern already from 1833 - therefore we can declare that Pravcická gate was first tourist target accessible in Czech Switzerland). Into rocky area we have to pay entrance-fee. Bus-station Tri prameny (Three springs) to Hrensko, Mezní Louka, Mezná, Vysoká Lípa. Accesses: 1. from road Hrensko-Mezná from bus-station Tri prameny or sometimes called Tríkrálový pramen (Threeking´s spring) (there is no parking place !) along forestry road upwards to restaurant Falcon´s nest, 2. from Mezní Louka (Frontier meadow) along Krídelní stena to restaurant Falcon´s nest too, both ways are part of educational path "Czech-German friendship", also R 14.
Pravcický důl (Pravcický valley)
Valley beginning by orifice of brook (springing between Pravcická brána /Pravcická gate/ and Krídelní stena /Wing´s wall/) into Dlouhá Belá (Long White brook) and continuing upstream upwards to state frontier. At close of valley on the right side of massive Krídelní stena are situated rock-climbing towers. At end of valley passes route of educational path "Czech-German friendship", also R 14.
Pryskyricný důl (Resinous valley)
Very broken 2 km long and by sandstone rocks surrounded valley in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), north of Na Tokání. It goes out from Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley) to south, passes west of Strelecké kameny (Shooter´s stones), then ascends between Hrad (Castle) (on the east) and Vosí vrch (Wasp hill) (on the west) to Jedlina (Fir hill). At its close (east) there are bizzare sandstone hill Růžová zahrada (Rosy garden) (458 m) crowned by steep walls and several rock-climbing towers (for example Velká vež - Big tower, Konský zub - Horse tooth and Strážce Pryskyricného dolu - Guardian of Resinous valley. Out of marked tourist paths.
Psí kameny (Canine stones)
Rocky massives south of Ponova louka (Pon´s meadow), the highest point 475 m on forestry path above Ponova louka.
Ptací kámen (Bird´s stone)
Wooded sandstone hill (372 m) in Jetrichovice´s walls, with rocky peak, 2 km west-north-west from log-houses Na Tokání, in lappet between Mokrý důl (Wet valley) (south) and Ceská silnice (Czech road) (west).
Pustý zámek (Vlcí hrádek) (Abandoned castle or Wolfish castle)
Former denomination for Vlcí hrádek (Wolfish castle) that lies to northeast from confluence of Vlcí potok (Wolfish brook) and Krinice, on rocky headland 1 km west of Kyjov, with imperceptible rests of guard-castle by road from Brtníky. Except of holes for beams in the rock we can see traces of rooms and stairs, which led from moat to entrance.
Pustý zámek (Abandoned castle)
Rocky headland Pustý zámek, denomination for protected natural relic with castle Fredevald (by entrance into deep valley of river Kamenice from west) 2 km east of Ceská Kamenice. Castle was founded in second half of 14th century, till today are preserved only vaults in the rock. It was signal stronghold of Ceskokamenický hrad (Kamenice´s castle), in 1444 during retaliatory campaign of Lusatian Sixtowns it was demolished, in 16th century already abandoned. Outlook into valley of river Kamenice - south Šišák (Spiked helmet), north - Hranác (Angular hill), geological reservation - basalt islet.
Rocky hill (445 m) in norhteastern part of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) between Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley) and border canyon of river Krinice (west), 4 km northwest of Doubice, 5 km west-south-west of Kyjov.
Rabštejn (Corvine stones)
Memorial of victims of fascism in WW2 on the place of former Nazi concentration camp in valley of river Kamenice, 2 km west of Ceská Kamenice, 1 km east of Janská. Former German denomination of precipices of sandstone rocks (Corvine or Raven´s rock) and wood on the left bank of river Kamenice near village Janská, name passed to railway-station (Veselé pod Rabštejnem near village Veselé by Decín). By confluence with brook coming from valley from village Kamenická Nová Víska was already before WW1 built spinning mill, which owner went bankrupt during trade machinations and plant wasn´t in operation no more. In 1938 Henleiners showed object to lord Runciman during his mission as demonstration of economical oppression of German people from the part of Czechoslovak government. At beginning of WW2 there was camp of Germans displaced "into native country" from Besarabia. After British air-raids to Nazi air-works in Bremen were parts of works moved to inconspicuous valley by Ceská Kamenice, where were utilized not only objects of former abandoned spinning mill but even were built underground halls into contiguous sandstone hillsides. There were produced parts for dive bombers Junkers "Stuka", fighters Messerschmidt, even prototypes of helicopters etc. To armory belonged two prisoner´s camps which were established on the end of year 1943 and further about 30 labour camps for foreign workers who were ordered under constraint there (from Ceská Kamenice to Jetrichovice). In June 1944 came first group of prisoners, who built up two houses - ground for working concentration camp that pertained to concentration camp Flossenbürg. Initial capacity of prisoners about 600 men was in the end of war increased almost two times, they were guarded by 68 SS-men. Even when Rabštejn wasn´t extermination concentration camp, prisoners suffered there with 12-hour´s hard-work in cold tunnels of rocky underground dressed only in shabby tatters and with insufficient meals and during outrageous treatment. Owing to very bad hygienic conditions in February 1945 broke out epidemic of typhus, in time of quarantine worked instead of prisoners American prisoners of war. Amount of died prisoners was about 80-100 people. When in 8th May 1945 forces of 2nd Polish army started to occupy northern villages of Šluknovský výbežek (Šluknov´s elongation) and Red Army set out for Prague, column of remaining prisoners and trucks with valuable things under surveillance of SS-garrison set out for captivity in direction to American armies. Column reached only Vernerice where guards fled in night with valuable things and prisoners were in 9th May finally free. After war camp served for internation of Nazi soldiers, exponents and deported Germans, equipment of armory took Soviets as war spoil and rest of it took over Czech plants (Avia Cakovice, Karosa Vysoké Mýto) and camp was abolished and abandoned. In the year 1959 was established there memorial with tablet "To victims of fascism 1938-1945". Building of former watch-house was reconstructed and in the year 1969 was opened exposition, later brought over to museum in Decín. Today all objects are out of repair, surroundings overgrows. Access from Ceská Kamenice at first along road in direction to Janská, behind town on the crossing to the left into valley of river Kamenice, you can get there also with car. Tourist mark further continues from valley to south to Kamenická Nová Víska and to railway-station Veselé pod Rabštejnem. Former factory halls and underground spaces aren´t accessible. Bus in Ceská Kamenice. Train in Veselé pod Rabštejnem (2 km). Y 19.
Rohác (dríve Vysoký ostroh) (Horn, former High headland)
Rocky peak east-north-east of Hrensko (1,5 km).
Rudolfův kámen (Vysoký kámen, Ostroh) (Rudolph´s stone, also High stone or Headland)
Distinct sanstone knot (484 m) of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 2 km north of Jetrichovice, 1 km southwest of log-cabins Na Tokání. Out-look point eminent for tourists, to the rocky top with top-cabin routes ladders and stairs. R 17.
Rusalcina jeskyne (Water nymph´s cave)
Rocky niche in western end of valley by lake (dried) by which used to stay factory (thread mill) called Grieslův mlýn (Griesl´s mill) (today recreation object for children from Prague).
Růžák (Růžovský vrch) (Rosy hill)
Local, incorrect denomination for Růžovský vrch, 2 km northwest of Srbská Kamenice. Today denomination for national protected reservation on Růžovský hill.
Růžová (Rosy village)
Agricultural village (318 m) on plateau 5 km southeast of Hrensko, 3 km west-north-west of Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill). Newly reconstructed baroque church of st. Peter andPaul from 1711 with new church clocks (after war fell into disrepair, in 1988 during burning of branches fire pounced upon roof and from church remained only torso of walls, in 1999 was ended complete outside reconstruction and 7th October 2000 church was consecrated again), the most valuable part of its equipment (10 baroque paintings of apostles from workshop of Petr Brandl from 1711) is now in museum in Decín. On ramp before church there are baroque statues from 18th century, west of church there is baroque belfry. In village timber folk buildings and half-timbered second floors. South of village on hill-side of Petrín (Peter´s hill) stands former wind-mill of Netherland´s type with vanes from 19th century (today pension - boarding house). Y 13. Bus to Decín, Janov.
Růžovská vrchovina (Rosy highlands)
Geomorphological district of Decínské steny (Decín´s walls) in Decínská vrchovina (Decín´s highlands). In the west it links up before Růžový hreben (Rosy ridge) with Snežnická hornatina (Snowy hill´s hilly country), in the north reaches across river Kamenice to neighbourhood of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls). To whole territory of highlands dominates pile of Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill) (the highest, 619 m) with basalt top.Largely flat plateau is broken by canyon of river Kamenice and several cut valleys of smaller water streams.
Růžovský vrch (Růžák) (Rosy hill)
Mighty basalt cone of volcanic origin (619 m) breaking through stout stratums of sandstones in Růžovská vrchovina (Růžová´s highlands), 2 km southwest of Srbská Kamenice (Wendish Kamenice), 8 km southeast of Hrensko. Hill probably used to have cult´s significance, its name probably derived from Celtic word "ros" = mighty. Proper cone from attitude 350 m is national natural reservation called Růžák. Banks are here and there covered by broken stones, on some places (for example northern peak, or on southern bank by Ledová studánka - Ice fountain) there is perceptible columnar separation of basalt. Basalt lava formed protective cover, under which were preserved also stratums of younger sandstones, which were elsewhere removed long ago by erosion (especially by flowing water). On northern bank sandstone stratum forms terrrace and steep bank. By descending to north on foot of hill there are cracks in the basalt rock called "ice hollows", in which we can sometimes find ice still in summer. Broken stones are overgrown with well-developed leafy wood with prevalence of maples, beechs and elmtrees, at edges are also lindens, horn-beams and ashtrees, on western banks and foot grow also secondary growth of spruce. In cotrast to cold sandstone valleyes there are more warmth-loving (xerofyt) species of flora, typical for Ceské stredohorí (Czech Middlemountains) and characteristic for plant covers at interstage to Pontic-Panonic flora, considerable influence had artificial extending of beechtrees, for the sake of it flora of former thinish warmth-loving groves had to adapted to new conditions, among them is also rare mountain lobed fern (Braun´s) and special variant of meadow-grass (variant aceps). Out-look from top of hill is made impossible by trees (former look-out tower was destroyed already before WW2, there are only partial out-looks from lower edge of wood, from deforested clearings and from broken stone´s fields (out-look to northwest: on the horizon from the left - Grosse Zschirnstein, lower valley of river Elbe, down below village Růžová, further on horizon Pfaffenstein, Písecný vrch (Sand hill), Papstein, Lasenstein, Königstein, during excellent visibility towers of city Dresden between these two table hills, Lilienstein, Zirkelstein, Kaiserkrone, Janovský vrch, Schrammsteine and on the right Stríbrné steny (Silver walls), out-look to east - Ješted, to southeast - Little and Big Bezdez etc.) According to appearance with famous Japan hill (especially during foggy mornings when top of hill protrudes from haze) Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill) is also called Decín´s Fujiyama. In the night 28.3.1945 bailed to territory of Rosy hill group of Soviet, Polish and anti-nazi German paratroopers, who succeeded to contact resistance movement in Ceská Kamenice. With secret transmitter they informed Soviet headquarters about moves of Nazi armies in region near approaching front. Y 13 (serpentine path with branching line to top of hill).
Růžový hreben (Růžové steny) (Rosy ridge or Rosy walls)
Broad denomination for rocky wall with sandstone towers (rock-climbing terraines) on right bank of river Labe (Elbe), above local part of town Decín "Loubí" (Porch) to Podskalí (Underrock). On proper Růžový hreben (433 m) - rocky headland protruding to west - there are out-looks into valley of river Elbe "from bird´s perspective", to opposite Snežnická vrchovina (Snowy hill´s highlands) and through valley of Elbe to part of Ceské Stredohorí (Czech Middlemountains).
Village (350 m) north above valley of river Chribská Kamenice by road from Chribská to Hrensko, 1,5 km east of Jetrichovice (it is local part of Jetrichovice). Rynartice are mentioned already in 1357. Dominating recreational character. By road to Jetrichovice behind hamlet on the right in the hill-side are socalled Trpaslicí jeskyne (hrad) (Dwarf´s caves /or castle/), in the rock are carved stairs and niches with reliefs and statues of dwarfs. B 22. Above hamlet surmounts Krížový vrch (Cross hill) (408 m) with good out-look: southeast - Studenec (Cold hill), Zámecký vrch (Castle hill by Ceská Kamenice), Jedlová (Fir hill), Malý Stožec (Small Stožec), northeast - Spravedlnost (Justice hill by Doubice), northwest - Jetrichovické skály (Jetrichovice´s rocks), Kolište, in far distance Grosse Winterberg (Big Winter hill), west - Vysoká Lípa (High linden), in far distance hills of Saxon Switzerland, protracted Zschirnstein, southwest - Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), in far distance Decínský Snežník (Decín´s Snowy hill) with out-look tower.
Wooded basalt knoll (477 m) 0,5 km south of railway-station in Ceská Kamenice. Its top is wooded, from bottom edge of wood are out-looks into surroundings. Plant cover of protected red-violet German gentian. On foot above railway station in rock of chalk-period numerous discoveries of fossils. In 1775 meeting-place and refuge of insurgent peasants of domain Ceská Kamenice.
Skaliny(též Na skalinách, Hyneška) (Rocks, also On rocks, Hyneška)
Forestry creek 1 km east-south-east of Jetrichovice. Former road from Všemily to Rynartice (here and there carved into sandstone rock, wheelprints of weaver´s wheelbarrows).
Sklenárův důl (Glass-maker´s valley)
1,5 km long rocky valley in Jetrichovicke steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) by Kyjovské údolí, from which turns in the middle (between Turistický most /Tourist bridge/ and former hamlet Zadní Doubice /Hinder Doubice/) to south and steeply ascends to southeast under western hill-sides of hill Brtník. There (by forester´s cottage) leads to road, that routes from Kuní vrch (Marten´s hill) (west) to marked Doubická cesta (Doubice s hill) G 33 (east). Name of valley originated according to legend about two glassmakers from Doubice, who used to carry their goods to Saxony through this valley and according to their adventure with bear (Cuts in rock in upper close of valley).
Snežná (Snowy village)
Village on small upper plateau (490 m) above valley of river Krinice and its right-sided affluent, 2,5 km northwest of Krásná Lípa (Nice Linden) (of which is local part). It was founded during dominical colonization in 17th century, later on also glass and textile production. Today largerly recreational character. Access only along blind branching line from road Krásný Buk (Nice beech) - Zahrady (Gardens). Former pilgrimage place, from afar visible late baroque church of Snowy Virgin Mary from year 1732, equipment from 19th century. By road baroque chapel from 18th century. There and also in adjacent hamlet (to south) Dlouhý důl (Long valley) are wooden timber buildings, two-storeyed too, from 18th and 19th century. Bus (by crossing 0,5 km) to Krásná Lípa, Rumburk, Varnsdorf, Mikulášovice. R 35.
Incorrect denomination for castle Falkenštejn (Falcon´s stone) by Jetrichovice.
Sokolí steny (Falcon´s walls)
Sandstone rocky cliffs southwest hill Pytlák (Poacher), north of Dravcí skály (Predatory rocks) (of massive Sýr a Chléb - Cheese and Bread). Rockclimbing terraines (tower Starosta - Mayor by western edge). West of bottom of wall routes B 22.
Soví jeskyne (better Soví díra) (Owl´s cave or better Owl´s hollow)
Passable through rocky hollow in sandstones south of Šternberk (Star hill), on the rock there is Soví vyhlídka (Owl´s out-look) (limited out-looks). G 33, branching line to east to out-look, hollow in dingle below it.
Soudkový důl (Keg´s valley)
About 2 km long valley in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) getting from Ceská silnice (Czech road) (1 km south of state border, opposite to orifice of Mlýnská rokle /Mill dingle/) to east, through wooded sandstone rocks ascends to crossing Panenská jedle (Virgin fir) under Vosí vrch (Wasp´s hill). B 22 (on crossing Panenská jedle), G 16 (passes in length of 0,5 km along upper part of Soudkový důl).
Spravedlnost (též Soudný vrch, Bludný vrch, dríve Popravište) (Justice hill or Judicial hill, Erratic hill nad formerly also Execution place)
Wooded basalt hill (531 m) in Lusatian ridge, 1 km south of Doubice, 2 km north-north-west of Chribská. Out-look platform on rocky peak provided with banisters, but it overgrows by trees, partial out-looks to south (small town Chribská, Studenec - Cold hill). Hill is enveloped in legends about ghostly ghost Rohál (Hörndl in german, in english Horner). On northeastern hill-side there is rock formed from five mighty basalt columns called Malá Spravedlnost (Small Justice hill). Y 23, branching line to the top.
Srbská Kamenice (Wendish Kamenice)
Village (216 m) sitauted in length 2 km along river Kamenice, 4 km southwest of Jetrichovice, 5 km northwest of Ceská Kamenice. Its name prooves ancient colonization of local forests from north by Slav´s people from Lusatia. First scriptural mention from 1352. Late-baroque church of st. Václav (Wenceslas) from 1774, equipment from end of 18th century. By road below church there is carved into high sandstone wall relief with religious motif (from 1701). Still in beginning of 20th century there operated numerous bleeching-grounds. Until today were preserved folk buildings, timber and combined (timber with half-timbered). In the woods (wooded hill-side by first pool between Srbská Kamenice and Nová Oleška) near village crashed in 1972 Yugoslavian airplane, only stewardess Vesna Vulovic survived (small memorial on the spot of drop of main part of airplane). In the middle of village there is museum of Czechoslovak frontier fortification built there in the years 1936-1938. Post. Bus to Vysoká Lípa, Ceská Kamenice, Decín. B 18 in northern edge of village, Y 13 get out of the middle of village.
Srbskokamenická souteska (Srbská Kamenice´s gorge or also Ferdinand´s gorge)
Valley and wild rocky canyon of river Kamenice in block´s sandstones of Růžovská vrchovina (Rosy highlands), south and east of Vysoká Lípa, 3 km west of Jetrichovice. Not-passable canyon links up on northwest with Divoká souteska (Wild gorge), at first passes through section called Ve strži (In ravine) and later on through canyon with walls falling directly into river. River bed is here and there blocked with drifted logs and boulders. This section of river end in place called Dolský mlýn (Ground or Bottom mill), where comes from right side brook Jetrichovická Belá (Jetrichovice´s White brook). Further to south goes above along valley (eastern bank) blue tourist mark directing to confluence of rivers Kamenice and Chribská Kamenice between villages Všemily and Srbská Kamenice. In more open valley (but still surrounded by rocks) stream of river Kamenice is more calm, in the most upper part forms already shelters and meanders. On this second section (Dolský mlýn to Všemily), formerly called Ferdinandova souteska (Ferdinand´s gorge), used to operate similar boats as in Wild and Silent gorges. Bus to Vysoká Lípa, Všemily. B 18, Y 21, both by Dolský Mlýn.
Stará Oleška (Old Oleška)
Irregular village (256 m) by upper flow of brook Olešnicka, 5 km west of Ceská Kamenice, local part of village Huntírov. Recreational area for town Decín and also industrial Below-Ore mountains. B 12. Bus to Decín, Srbská Kamenice. Railway station in Veselé pod Rabštejnem (2 km).
Staroolešská souteska (Old Oleška´s gorge)
Romantic part of brook Olešnicka west of village Old Oleška, 6 km west of Ceská Kamenice. Between rocks (Vlcí rokle - Wolfish dingle) there used to be operated boats on back water of brook similarly as in gorges of river Kamenice.
Stríbrné steny (Silver walls)
Steep cliffs of sandstone massive (459 m) in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), by state border, 2 km northeast of Hrensko. Front wall turned to south (length 400 m) is bordered by distinct towers: west Stríbrný roh (Silver horn), east Strážce (Guardian). In surroundings there are another climbing towers, especially above valley of brook Suchá Belá (Dry White brook), behind it (on its left bank) are Tetreví steny (Wood grouse´s walls). Out of marked paths, access along brook Suchá Belá.
Studánkový důl (Fountain´s valley and incorrectly Travnatý důl - Grassy valley)
Short wooded side valley in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) (name after fountain into which trickles water from overhang), turning 1 km southeast of Turistický most (Tourist bridge) from Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley) to southeast, steeply ascends through sandstone rocks between hill Brtník and Medvedice (She-bear´s hill) to hill Hrebec (Stallion), where it reaches close of Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley). G 33 passes through valley.
Studenec (Cold hill)
Widely conical hill from basalt (736 m) 4 km northeast of Ceská Kamenice, 1 km northwest of upper edge of hamlet Líska (Hazel). To the north and west steeply falls into valley of Studený potok (Cold brook) to hamlet Studený (Cold village) (attitude difference 400 m), on southern and eastern hill-sides are on several places large broken stones field. Name of hill after spring of cold water on northeastern elongation. Hill Studenec used to be part of triangulation system of Bohemia (vide Latin inscription on stone by look-out tower). Already in 1854 there was built up look-out tower (the second oldest in Bohemia), in 1888 was made up for new one - present iron construction (completely eroded and not-accessible), partial out-looks are from some broken stones fields - look to north: from left village Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill), hill Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill), village Doubice, Spravedlnost (Justice hill), Vápenný vrch (Lime hill), Široký vrch (Wide hill), on the right municipality Chribská). Under out-look tower there are rests (vault) of former tourist cottage. On Studenec and its neighbourhood live izards (put there in the beginning of 20th century). Top of hill is natural reservation called Studený vrch (Cold hill). R 24 routes along southern shoulder, from it branching line to north (mark=triangle) to the top. Through saddle east of top passes B 25.
Studený vrch (Cold hill)
Official name of natural reservation situated on top of hill Studenec 4 km northeast of Ceská Kamenice. Typical exhibitions of various wood growths characteristic for Lusatian mountains. Top of hill with its broken stones fields is overgrown with beech-trees with mosses, in lower attitudes grows also maple, in wetter attitudes also ash-tree, rarely also fir and elm-tree. Vegetative undergrowth is formed of ferns (northern hill-sides), netýkavka (humble-plant), marinka vonná (woodruff) and protected mesícnice vytrvalá (Perennial Honesty) (Lunaria rediviva) and fox-gloves. On broken stones fields take airings izards.
Studený (Cold village)
Village (330 m) in valley of Studený potok (Cold brook) below northwestern hill-sides of Studenec (Cold hill), 5 km north-north-east of Ceská Kamenice (of which was local part until 1990, today local part of Kunratice). Predominant recreational character. Cross with Piety from year about 1800. About 0,5 km south of hamlet there is pyramidal monument, one of monuments commemorating battle between Austrian and Prussian armies in 1757. R 24. Bus to Ceská Kamenice. Bus also in Rynartice (1,5 km from Studený).
Studený potok (Cold brook)
Slight flow (about 4 km) with considerable steep declivity, originating on northeastern shoulder of hill Studenec (Cold hill), it flows to west through village Studený (R 24), behind that below Rynartice (B 22) it empties itself into Chribská Kamenice at edge of Pavlinino údolí (Pauline´s valley).
Stupňový důl (Stage´s valley)
Rocky valley, coming out of hill Vetrovec (Wind hill) (above Vysoká Lípa) and directing to northeast and after 3 km ending on Ceská silnice (Czech road).
Suchá Belá (Dry White brook)
It flows in length only about 3 km through varied broken territory of sandstone rocks northwest of Pravcická brána (Pravcická gate). It springs below Tetreví steny (Wood grouse´s walls) (forestry section "V jelením" - In deer), at first western direction of flow turns soon to south and by road (R 14) it connected itself with Dlouhá Belá (Long White brook) (coming from Mezní Louka), along which it empties itself after next 1 km into river Kamenice in Hrensko.
Suchá Kamenice (Dry stone brook)
Brook running from Růžovskávrchovina (Rosy highlands) to northwest. It springs south-east of Arnoltice on northwestern hill-side of Bynovecký vrch (Bynovec´s hill) by recreational hamlet Nový Svet (New World) (bathing pool, B 12), from north it flows round village Arnoltice, under that it enters constantly deeper dingle. Behind confluence with small brook coming from Arnoltice it passes along Arnoltické steny (Arnoltice´s walls) (former Krimmer´s walls), below village Labská Strán (Elbe´s Side) forms narrow and romantic valley with rocky walls and with boulder´s bottom again, in which water washed out three giant "pots". From right side it takes Janovský potok (Janov´s brook) and after 1 km it empties itself into river Labe (Elbe). Brook usually have few water, during overflowing (after thunder-storms and torrential rains) it became wild stream, the biggest floodings were in May 1888 and August 1910. B 12 follows upper flow (Arnoltice´s walls), with M 12 links up R 11 C 11 in lower part of valley that descends along left bank from Labská Strán and then it continues along river Elbe to Hrensko.
Suchý vrch (Dry hill)
Wooded basalt hill (481 m) in eastern part of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 2,5 km northeast of Jetrichovice, 1 km southeast of Na Tokání. B 22, on western shoulder Y 21.
Sviňské rokle (Sviňské doly, also Kancí důl) (Sow´s dingles, Sow´s valleys, also Boar´s valley)
Broken sandstone valley with many branching lines of rocky dingles in eastern edge of Růžovská vrchovina (Rosy highlands). Through it flows Svinský potok (Sow´s brook), that empties itself into river Kamenice between Srbská Kamenice and Všemily. Valley ascends 3 km at first along southwestern foot of hill Borovina (Pine-wood hill) and then to southeast to heights Nos (Nose) and Velká Hůrka (Big hill) north of Filipov (Phillip´s village). On northwestern edge of valley are situated rock-climbing towers. B 18 goes through lower part of valley and then along height south above middle part of valley.
Sýr a chléb (Cheese and bread)
Sandstone rocky massive (436 m) situated north of descent of blue mark B 22 from north into Hrebcový důl (Stallion´s valley), south of hill Pytlák (Poacher). Name after form and arrangement of sandstone blocks of one of rocks. Rock-climbing terraines, for example Cerná paní (Black Lady), Šikmá vež (Slope tower).
Šaunštejn (Watch stone) (Loupežnický hrad - Robber´s castle)
Rests of rocky castel on narrow sandstone block (340 m) 1 km north of village Vysoká Lípa (High linden). It was founded probably in 14th century by so-called Ceská stezka (Czech road) near branching line to Hrensko and river Labe (Elbe). We have minimum scriptural mentions about it (however we can thank for it, by other castles we don´t have anything). Castle along whole region was owned by Berkas and then Vartenberkas, it took part in campaigns against Lusatia, therefore it was in 1444 besieged and conquered by armies of Lusatian Sixtowns. Probably it was also signal castle: with fire they reported to castle Falkenštejn (by Jetrichovice) every motion on Ceská stezka. With changes of domain-owners and changes of domain-borders castle lost its importance, on the end of 15th century was already abandoned. With extinguishment of buildings of castle in the course of time people also forgot name of castle. When after 30-years war rests of castle became refuge of Sweden deserters and robbers, people began to call it Loupežnický hrad (Robber´s castle). Plateau of castle rock, divided into several blocks with steep walls, is about 70 m long (from southwest to northeast) and only 15-20 m wide, access was secured with iron ladders, bridges adn banisters. On northwestern foot there is hollow of former stable or porter s carved into rock, further monogram J.J.H. with date 1760. On top of rock is hollowed tetragonal ground of former wooden castle tower, on the highest point of rock there is mouth of hollow of jug´s form (opening 1 m, lower span 3 m) serving probably as water-tank for rain water. Outlook: east - ridge of Kolište, behind him more to south Studenec (Cold hill), southeast - Falkenštejn (Falcon stone), south - Vysoká Lípa (High Linden) and Zámecek (391 m) (Chateau hill), southwest - Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), west - Vetrovec (Wind hill), more distant valley of river Elbe and in Germany Zirkelstein ant protracted Tschirnstein. R 17.
Zalesnený cedicový vrch (611 m) v Lužickém hrbetu, 2 km vých. od Studence, 3 km jižne od Chribské. Vyskytuje se tu hlízovitá odlucnost cedice.C 24 po severím úbocí. Na sz. svahu Mesícní údolí (1 km dlouhé), výskyt prísne chránené vecernice vonné (lidove mesícní fialky), prístup od východu z rozcestí U krížového buku (1 km).
Rozložitá znelcová kupa (586 m) mezi Doubicemi a Rybništem, s upraveným rozhledištem Karlovou výšinou (rozhled na zadní Ceské Švýcarsko, Lužickéhory aj.), dnes však prerostlou lesem. C 32 po severových. svahu.
Bývalý lovecký zámecek, 1,5 km na jz. od Brtníků (410 m), pozdne barokní prízemní stavba z let 1771-1774 s mansardovou strechou, název podle rodového jména manželky stavebníkovy. Nyní rekreacní stredisko a detský tábor. V okolí oltár vytesaný do skály a skalní útvary Pruské ležení, Krtitelnice, Hlava.Z 33.
Táborový důl (Mokrý důl) (Camp valley or Wet valley)
2 km logn wooded rocky valley in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls). South of Ptací kámen (Bird´s stone) in links up with Mokrý důl (Wet valley) (west) and zigzag continues to eastern direction to crossing Na Tokání. Entry of cars to forestry road is prohibited. Valley is not-marked, B 22 and Y 23 on its eastern edge (Na Tokání).
Tetrevna (Balzerovo ležení, Balzerův tábor) (Wood grousery) (also Balzer´s encampment or camp)
Large rocky overhang in Jetrichovické skály (Jetrichovice´s rocks) on path between Vilemínina stena (Vilemína´s wall) and Mariina skála (Mary´s rock), with adapted seats. Formerly place of hunter´s rendezvous and their refuge, especially during hunting of wood grouses. In the rock are carved German inscriptions from 1632 (period of 30-years war) and from 1856 (meeting of foresters and farmers). R 17.
Tichá souteska (Silent gorge) (or Edmundova s. - Edmund´s g.)
Rocky canyon of river Kamenice in block sandstones in Růžovská vrchovina (Růžová s highlands), 1-4 km east-south-east from Hrensko. Deep valley (50-150 m) with steep, here and there upright rocky walls, where river often fills whole bottom of gorge. There is visible block´s dilapidation of sandstones, some rocky blocks are fallen in bottom of gorge. From whirling of water and sand originated in river bed giant "pots" and all sorts of hollows. On the banks mixed forest (spruce, fir, beech, ash, alder, elm, maple and horn-beam), protected flowers (for example violka dvoukvetá (Viola biflora), vranec jedlový (Fir Clubmoss) (Huperzia selago), by upper edges of rocks rojovník bahenní (Labrador-tea) (Ledum palustre) and rašeliník (Sphagnum Moss). We can observe temperature differences of attitude zones: at the bottom of gorge is lower average temperature and higher humidity than on upper edges and tops of rocks, therefore also flowers typical for higher attitudes grow well there. In higher attitudes on the contrary stands well pine, that gives preference to warmth and dry atmosphere. Entrance into gorge is situated on eastern edge of village Hrensko by bridge (road turns from valley to north), where also began educational path. Originaly non-passable valley was made available by path stately opened 4.5.1890. At first path goes along left bank and then along right bank, it passes below rocky overhangs and through three tunnels to lower landing-place of boats (above sluice). Opposite to landing-place of boats on the left side high up of hillside there is triad of rocky towers called Skalní rodina (Rocky family) - Babicka (Grandmother), Deti (Childrens) and Rodice (Parents), they are among 15 objects on banks of both gorges utilized by rockclimbers. Then follows section of 960 m accessible only by boats (fee about 40 CZK), that ends by rocky tower called Strážce prístavu (Guardian of landing-place) on the right bank. Pedestrian path further passes along restaurant on the left bank, then continues to Mezní můstek (Mezná´s bridge), where ends Tichá souteska and begins Divoká souteská (Wild gorge). Bus Hrensko, Mezná, Mezní Louka. R 14 on western edge (Hrensko), G 16 on eastern edge (Mezní můstek), educational path.
Travnatý důl (Grassy valley)
Improper denomination of Studánkový důl (Spring´s (or Fountain´s) valley).
Turistický most (Tourist bridge)
Bridge across river Krinice closely behind entry of Vlcí potok (Wolfish brook) (304 m), orientation point in lower part of Kyjov´s valley. Name was used already on the end of 19th century. Across bridge passes way routing through valley of Wolfish brook to village Vlcí Hora (Wolfish Hill) (without tourist marking), from this way very early turns marked path to Brtník´s castle, Velký pruský tábor (Big Prussian camp), Soví vyhlídka (Owl´s outlook), Šternberk (Star hill) and Brtníky, G 33.
U krížového buku (By cross-beech)
Gamekeeper´s lodge and crossing of tourist path between Chribská and Ceská Kamenice (2 km southwest of Královské Pole /Royal Field/), in saddle (535 m) between Javor (Maple hill) and Široký kopec (Wide hill). Name after cross designating mass grave of killed soldiers in battle between Prussian and Austrian armies in 1757.
Úzké schody (Narrow stairs)
Romantic section of yellow-marked tourist path in Jetrichovice´s walls northeast of Na Tokání. Path descends from knoll Jedlina (Fir knoll), passes through rocky gate and narrow passage called Dvorana (former Theodor´s corridor). Then path at first passes on rocky ledges along walls of headland, against which towers from valley (at place of path-bend) solitary sandstone tower Tokánská jehla (Tokán´s needle) (rockclimbing ways of VI. and VII. grade of difficulty). Path turns to left and by keen curve crosses valley. Behind it path steeply descends through long and somewhere very narrow rocky cleft, that here and there is equipped with wooden stairs - therefore Úzké (Príkré) (Narrow or also Steep) stairs or Myší díry (Mouse pits). Below them path routes to Smolárna (Pitch-work) (once there in pitch-furnaces was produced pitch and grease from pine stumps), close to it there are two rocky benches and overhangs called Konská stání (Horse standings) (refuge of inhabitants from villages Rynartice and Chribská during Napoleonic wars, carved date 1813). In close way descends to road on Tokán´s meadow. B 22 (after descent to Na Tokání), Y 23 (goes through).
Valy (též Na valech) (Mounds or also On mounds)
Rocky sandstone hill (448 m), 1,5 km northeast of Rynartice. Out-looks into valley of river Chribská Kamenice.
Natural reservation (15 ha) on top of Vápenný vrch (548 m) (Lime hill) on territory of village Kyjov, 1,5 km northeast of Doubice, 2 km southeast of Kyjov north of road Doubice-Krásná Lípa. Sole territory of protected nature in Šluknovský výbežek (Šluknov´s elongation). There completely unusualy are contiguous granite rocks of Lusatian pluton, sandstones and small islets of jurasic limestones, which are unique on territory of Bohemia, here and there are outbreaks of tertiary basalt vulcanites. So in unique cluster we can find there all geological units which form territory of Northern Bohemia. Varied geological fields enabled creation of nourishing soils for rich plant cover. In secondary spruce-wood preserved itself old beech-wood with maple, linden, pine and ash, in udergrowth is plentiful for example lýkovec jedovatý (mezereon, february daphne) (Daphne mezereum), kruštík širolistý (Broad-leaved Helleborine) (Epipactis helleborine), konvalinka vonná (lily of valley) (Convallaria majalis), okrotice cervená (Red Helleborine) (Cephalanthera rubra), vstavac plamatý (Spotted orchis) (Orchis maculatum), bradácek vejcitý (Common Twayblade) (Listera ovata) and fern žebrovice různolistá (hard-fern) (Blechnum spicant). R 32 (goes through), G 33 (along southern edge).
Vápenný vrch (Lime hill) (former Maškův - Mašek´s hill)
Mostly granite wooded hill (548 m) between Doubice and Krásná Lípa (3 km southwest of Krásná Lípa). On its top there is Natural reservation Vápenka (Lime-kiln). By road from Doubice to Krásná Lípa by Doubický potok (Doubice´s brook) (in the places, where G 33 turns from road to north) are rests of old lime-kiln (adjacent building of former inn is today recreational hunting object). About 300 m to north, on southern foot Lime hill there are two (already wooded) pits for lime, that fed lime-kiln by raw material. In quarry and also on other places in area of Lime hill (for example by socalled Vápenná cesta /Lime road/ to settlement Hely) were found imprints of sea animals and remarkable minerals (for example blue malachite, malachite, leštěnec olověný etc.). Top of hill is wooded without outlooks. R 32 (along eastern hill-side), G 33 (along southern hill-side, along former lime-kiln, from it not-marked forestry road).
Velká Belá (Large White brook)
Sometimes used name for Jetrichovická Belá (Jetrichovice´s White brook).
Velká Hůrka (Big hill)
The middle from three hills 2 km north of Ceská Kamenice (along: southwest Nos /Nose/ 384 m, northeast Malá Hůrka /Little hill/), basalt hill (364 m) with out-looks especially to south and west.
Velký Ostrý (Big sharp rock)
Former name of middle from three characteristical sandstone peaks (427 m), 1 km northeast of Jetrichovice, in 19th century re-named to Mariina skála (Mary´s rock).
Velký pruský tábor (Big Prussian camp)
Mighty rocky overhang in sandstone Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls) south of Šternberk (Star hill), 2,5 km southwest of Brtníky. It used to be refuge for inhabitants of surrounding villages, especially from Brtníky, perhaps already during 30-years war, especially in year 1756 during seven-years war, when through region marched Prussian army, but of course during Austrian-Prussian war in 1866. G 33, branching line to east.
Vetrný vrch (Wind hill)
Basalt, partly wooded hill (481 m) in eastern part of Růžovská vrchovina (Rosy highlands), 2,5 km north of Ceská Kamenice, 2 km northwest of Kunratice, 3 km west-south-west of Studenec (Cold hill). Conical hill protracted above bald surroundings, therefore it enables out-looks from edge of wood on top of hill: to east Studenec, in far distance peak of Klíc (Key), to south Ceská Kamenice and Zámecký vrch (Castle hill with rests of castle), to west Růžovský vrch (Rosy hill), in far distance Decínský Snežník (Decín´s Snowy hill) and fence of Krušné hory (Ore mountains), more to north (already in Germany) Zschirnstein and typical hills of Saxon Switzerland, to northwest Winterberg (Winter hill), to north village Rynartice and rocky peaks by Jetrichovice, in far distance Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill), to northeast Spravedlnost (Justice hill) by Doubice. G 20 passes through saddle east of Vetrný vrch, from marked path along field roads to the top.
Vetrovec (Wind hill)
Sandstone hill (450 m) in Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 1,5 km east of Mezní Louka (Frontier meadow), 1 km northwest of Šaunštejn. Rocky ridgy top, available along marked path with stairs, there used to be sentry-point of anti fire patrols, former sentry-tower enabled excellent look-out, today limited by overgrown trees. R 17.
Vilemínina stena (Cerná stena) (Vilemína´s wall, Black wall)
The northest from three characteristic massives (439 m), 1,5 km northeast of Jetrichovice. Former denomination Cerná stena (Black wall) was changed only in 19th century, on older tourist maps also name Jetrichovická stena (Jetrichovice´s wall). From top rocky platform are pretty outlooks to west. By northern edge of wall are rock-climbing towers. R 17 (with branching line to the top).
Vinný sklep (Wine-cellar)
Cave in sandstone boulders on left bank of river Krinice in Kyjovské údolí (Kyjov´s valley).
Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill)
Protracted village (476 m) situated in wide saddle between Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill) (northeast) and Kamenný vrch (Stone hill) (southwest), 6 km west-south-west of Rumburk and 4 km northwest of Krásná Lípa, whose part it is. West and south from village (0,5 - 1 km) passes line of Lusatian pushed over formation, where are contiguous block s sandstones (southwest) and coarse-grained Brtník s granite (northeast). Village was founded in the year 1589 during colonization of the then deep forests. Later attractive surroundings (look-out tower on top of Vlcí hora, near valleys and dingles) gave village the recreational impress. Church from 1870. South of village near former gamekeeper s lodge used to have in 18th century cottage robber and incendiary Jakob Raschauer with his wife. His adroitness during escapes gave rise to legends about magic vest, that made him unvisible. After cruel murder of old shopkeeper he was caught by guile just near his cottage and in 1740 he was hanged in Lipová. In surroundings there is ski-lift. Bus to Krásná Lípa, Rumburk, Varnsdorf, Mikulášovice, Dolní Poustevna. R 35, Y 36.
Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill)
Wooded tefrit protracted pile (581 m) in Šluknovská pahorkatina (Šluknov´s hilly country), 1 km north from village of same name, 6 km west-south-west of Rumburk. On top are straggled basalt rocks, here and there with columnar separation, columns containing large amount of magnetite (mineral with high content of iron) curve out magnetic needle. In high wood occurence of rare plants (for example mesícnice vytrvalá (Perennial Honesty) (Lunaria rediviva), cemerice (bear's foot), sneženka (snowdrop)). On protracted small rocky ridge on top of hill stands brick quadrilateral outlook-tower (height 12 m, from year 1889) and former cottage (from year 1887), today both are private objects, owner enables ascending to lookout-tower. Isolated location of hill affords out-look into almost all directions. R 35 along western hill-side, Y 36 over top of hill.
Vlcí hrádek (Wolfish castle) (or Pustý zámek - Abandoned castle)
Rests of former rocky redoubt on wooded sandstone headland with vertical sides falling on north to Kunzův důl (Kunze´s valley) and on south to Rákosový důl (Cane valley), 2 km southwest of village Vlcí hora, 1 km northeast of Turistický most (Tourist bridge) across Krinice. About castle we don´t have any historical informations, probably it was one of points of support during colonization of inhospitable region and by establishing influence of clan of Berkas from Dubá, to whom it served for protection of trade routes routing from places of transshipment on river Elbe to Šluknov´s region. When whole territory passed in 1443 to Saxon arms, castle lost its function and was abandoned. Access was from east over pre-castle rock on which is carved support for draw-bridge, further across moat (originaly deep about 10 m) to proper castle. In its western part is carved into rock square hollow of ground for wooden castle-tower, into hollow routes small corridor, cranny to south served as window, in western wall of hollow there is carved appearance of frowning man of medieval origin. On southern edge of castle plateau are traces of beams of floor of parkan and channels for palisade from wickers. Out of marked paths, the nearest is G 33, Turistický most (Tourist bridge).
Vlcí potok (Wolfish brook)
Right-sided affluent of river Krinice. It springs on northwestern foot of Vlcí hora (Wolfish hill) near railway station Panský (Lord´s), it flows to southwest through broken sandstone territory, after about 8 km it empties itself into Krinice by Turistický most (Tourist bridge). Attractive territory is available by not-marked forestry road, in close of valley passes through G 33 coming from Brtnický hrádek (Brtník´s castle).
One of rock-climbing sandstone towers (383 m) on right bank of Elbe´s valley in Snežnická hornatian(Snowy hill´s hilly country), 2,5 km south of villlage Labská Strán (Elbe´s Side), 2 km west-north-west of Bynovec. Climbing routes of 6th and 7th difficulty-grade. Name after statue of st. Vojtech on opposite bank of river Labe (Elbe). Out of marked paths.
Vosí vrch (Wasp´s hill)
Basalt knot (476 m) on sandstone field in eastern part of Jetrichovické steny (Jetrichovice´s walls), 1,5 km northwest of Na Tokání, southeast of crossing U panenské jedle (By Virgin fir). From rocky top are partial out-looks. On northern shoulder there is sandstone tower Stážce (Guardian). B 22 goes round from south and west.
Vraní vrch (former Násep) (Crow´s hill, former Dam)
Wooded sandstone rock, 1 km northwest of Doubice, several out-looks.
Vresová dolina (Vresovište) (Heather´s valley or Moor)
Wooded valley (2 km long) on upper flow of Bynovecký potok (Bynovec´s brook) between villages Bynovec and road from Ludvíkovice to Nová Oleška. On left bank is bordered by sandstone rocky stage (348 m). Out of tourist marked paths.
Valley village (210 m) along lower flow of Chribská Kamenice, 2 km southwest of Jetrichovice, of which is local part. Rocky chapel excavated into sandstone block. Recreational objects private and firm too. New big horse-stables. From height by seclusion Na Všemilské Planine (On Všemily´s table-land) (former Folga), 1 km northwest of Všemily are far out-looks into Czech Switzerland (one of the best out-looks !!!). Bus to Ceská Kamenice, Decín, Jetrichovice. B 18 (on western edge).
Vyhlídka (Kacírský nebo Kocicí kostel)
320 m, tower sandstone rocky formation above Jetrichovice (0,5 km north of middle of village).
Vysoká Lípa (High Linden)
Village (310 m) above valley of river Kamenice, 3 km west-north-west of Jetrichovice (Vysoká Lípa is local part of Jetrichovice). Village is situated in extremely advantageous location. Above middle of village surmounts rocky height Na zámecku (On Chateau) (387 m). Dominance of recreational character. B 18. Bus to Ceská Kamenice, Hrensko, Decín.
Vysoký kámen (High stone) (Rudolfův kámen - Rudolf´s stone, Ostroh - Headland)
Prime name of rock that was in 19th century re-named to Rudolfův kámen, sometimes called Ostroh.
Zadní Doubice (Hinder Doubice)
Defunct hamlet on the river Krinice west of village Kyjov. B 22.
Zadní Jetrichovice (Hinder Jetrichovice)
Defunct hamlet on the river Krinice north of Vysoká Lípa. G 16.
Village (433 m) by road on plain of water sheds of Severní (North) and Baltské (Baltic) sea, east of village Vlcí hora, 3 km northwest of Krásná Lípa (Nice Linden), to which village appertains. Home knitting of stocking melted in early 19th century into factory production (the oldest plant from 1833). On private garden of house nr. 30 there is plastic map of surroundings built-up from autentic rocks brought from demonstrated territories (visitation is possible on request). At beginning of 20th century created it textile designer Rudolf Kögler, since 1983 is protected technical relic. Y 36. Post. Train. Bus to Krásná Lípa, Rumburk, Varnsdorf, Mikulášovice.
Zámecký vrch (Castle hill)
Hill (530 m) with ruins of Kamenický hrad (Kamenice´s castle). Branching line G 26.
Zámecek (Small chateau)
Present pension, 1 km northwest of Vysoká Lípa, above canyon of Srbskokamenická souteska (Srbská Kamenice´s gorge). Former forester's house and hunting chateau of owner of domain - count Clary, who entertained there lord Runciman during his mission in September 1938. B 18, branching line to out-look point Ptací kámen (Bird´s stone). Also denomination used for knoll (391 m) above Vysoká Lípa (Na zámecku - On chateau hill).
Zlatý vrch (Golden hill) (also Lískovec - Hazel hill)
Basalt hill (657 m) moved to south from chain of Studenec (Cold hill), about 1 km east of village Líska (Hazel), 1,5 km to southeast from Cold hill. On eastern and southern hill-side of pile was in sixties of 20th century during output of stone (used for its resistance even by construction of sea moles - for example in Netherlands) was uncovered inner structure of hill with columnar separation. Even 30 m high columns of basalt are in the middle of formation vertical, in the direction of edge their inclination decreases into horizontal bearing. Top of hill is covered by younger basalt cope without columnar separation. Production of stone was stopped when was decreed protected natural formation (present natural reservation) Vápenka (Lime-kiln) and main quarry wall was preserved. According to some experts this locality is more valuable than famous Panská skála (The lord´s rock) or alias Varhany (Organs) by Kamenický Šenov. Bus Líska-upper part, there you can park too.
MORE DETAILED INFORMATIONS ABOUT TOURIST ROUTES
MORE DETAILED INFORMATIONS ABOUT TOURIST DESTINATIONS
MORE DETAILED INFORMATIONS ABOUT ARCHITECTONIC SIGHTS
BACK TO MAINPAGE
(c) Pech - 2000, optimized for MS IE 5.0 + scale 1024 x 768.